The Who – Quadrophenia (1973) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2012 # UIGY-9093] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

The Who – Quadrophenia (1973) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2012 # UIGY-9093]
PS3 Rip | ISO | SACD DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 82:22 minutes | Scans included | 3,31 GB
or FLAC (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,89 GB

Uses the 2012 DSD master based on UK original analog tape. Reissue features the high-fidelity SHM-SACD format (fully compatible with standard SACD player, but it does not play on standard CD players). DSD transferred by Jon Astley.

Pete Townshend revisited the rock opera concept with another double-album opus, this time built around the story of a young mod’s struggle to come of age in the mid-’60s. If anything, this was a more ambitious project than Tommy, given added weight by the fact that the Who weren’t devising some fantasy, but were re-examining the roots of their own birth in mod culture. In the end, there may have been too much weight, as Townshend tried to combine the story of a mixed-up mod named Jimmy with the examination of a four-way split personality (hence the title Quadrophenia), in turn meant to reflect the four conflicting personas at work within the Who themselves. The concept might have ultimately been too obscure and confusing for a mass audience. But there’s plenty of great music anyway, especially on “The Real Me,” “The Punk Meets the Godfather,” “I’m One,” “Bell Boy,” and “Love, Reign O’er Me.” Some of Townshend’s most direct, heartfelt writing is contained here, and production-wise it’s a tour de force, with some of the most imaginative use of synthesizers on a rock record. Various members of the band griped endlessly about flaws in the mix, but really these will bug very few listeners, who in general will find this to be one of the Who’s most powerful statements.


01 – I Am The Sea
02 – The Real Me
03 – Quadrophenia
04 – Cut My Hair
05 – The Punk And The Godfather
06 – I’m One
07 – The Dirty Jobs
08 – Helpless Dancer
09 – Is It In My Head?
10 – I’ve Had Enough
11 – 5:15
12 – Sea And Sand
13 – Drowned
14 – Bell Boy
15 – Doctor Jimmy
16 – The Rock
17 – Love Reign O’er Me

DSD transferred from analogue master tapes by Jon Astley at Close To The Edge Mastering, 2012.



%d bloggers like this: