The Who – Tommy (1969) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2012 # UIGY-9089] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

The Who – Tommy (1969) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2012 # UIGY-9089]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 78:59 minutes | Full Scans included | 3,01 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,46 GB

Tommy is the fourth album by English rock band The Who, released by Track Records and Polydor Records in the United Kingdom and Decca Records/MCA in the United States. A double album telling a loose story about a “deaf, dumb and blind boy” who becomes the leader of a messianic movement, Tommy was the first musical work to be billed overtly as a rock opera. Released in 1969, the album was mostly composed by Pete Townshend. In 1998 it was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame for “historical, artistic and significant value”. It has sold over 20 million copies worldwide. This edition uses the 2012 DSD master based on UK original analog tape. Reissue features the high-fidelity SHM-SACD format (fully compatible with standard SACD player, but it does not play on standard CD players).

The full-blown rock opera about a deaf, dumb, and blind boy that launched the band to international superstardom, written almost entirely by Townshend. It was hailed as a breakthrough upon its release, but its critical standing has diminished somewhat in the ensuing decades, because of the occasional pretensions of the concept, and the insubstantial nature of some of the songs that functioned as little more than devices to advance the rather sketchy plot. Nonetheless, the double album has many excellent songs, including “I’m Free,” “Pinball Wizard,” “Sensation,” “Christmas,” “We’re Not Gonna Take It,” and the dramatic ten-minute instrumental, “Underture.” Though the album was slightly flawed, Townshend’s ability to construct a lengthy conceptual narrative brought new possibilities to rock music. Despite the complexity of the project, he and the Who never lost sight of solid pop melodies, harmonies, and forceful instrumentation, imbuing the material with a suitably powerful grace.


01. Overture – 05:20
02. It’s A Boy – 00:39
03. 1921 – 02:49
04. Amazing Journey – 03:24
05. Sparks – 03:45
06. Eyesight To The Blind (The Hawker) – 02:13
07. Christmas – 04:35
08. Cousin Kevin – 04:07
09. The Acid Queen – 03:34
10. Underture – 10:02
11. Do You Think It’s Alright? – 00:25
12. Fiddle About – 01:31
13. Pinball Wizard – 03:01
14. There’s A Doctor – 00:24
15. Go To The Mirror! – 03:48
16. Tommy Can You Hear Me? – 01:35
17. Smash The Mirror – 01:35
18. Sensation – 02:26
19. Miracle Cure – 00:13
20. Sally Simpson – 04:10
21. I’m Free – 02:39
22. Welcome – 04:32
23. Tommy’s Holiday Camp – 00:57
24. We’re Not Gonna Take It – 07:07

DSD transferred from analogue master tapes by John Astley at The Edge Mastering, 2012.



%d bloggers like this: