The Who – My Generation (1965) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2011 # UIGY-9059] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

The Who – My Generation (1965) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2011 # UIGY-9059]
PS3 Rip | ISO | SACD DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 78:59 minutes | Scans included | 3,17 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,38 GB

Reissue features the high-fidelity SHM-SACD format (fully compatible with standard SACD player, but it does not play on standard CD players). Contains UK original mono version, which features the 2005 96kHz/24bit mastering based on UK original master tape, and remix stereo version, which features 2003 DSD mastering based on the US master produced by MCA.

An explosive debut, and the hardest mod pop recorded by anyone. At the time of its release, it also had the most ferociously powerful guitars and drums yet captured on a rock record. Pete Townshend’s exhilarating chord crunches and guitar distortions threaten to leap off the grooves on “My Generation” and “Out in the Street”; Keith Moon attacks the drums with a lightning, ruthless finesse throughout. Some “Maximum R&B” influence lingered in the two James Brown covers, but much of Townshend’s original material fused Beatlesque hooks and power chords with anthemic mod lyrics, with “The Good’s Gone,” “Much Too Much,” “La La La Lies,” and especially “The Kids Are Alright” being highlights. “A Legal Matter” hinted at more ambitious lyrical concerns, and “The Ox” was instrumental mayhem that pushed the envelope of 1965 amplification with its guitar feedback and nonstop crashing drum rolls. While the execution was sometimes crude, and the songwriting not as sophisticated as it would shortly become, the Who never surpassed the pure energy level of this record.


01 – Out In The Street (Mono)
02 – I Don’t Mind (Mono)
03 – The Good’s Gone (Mono)
04 – La-La-La Lies (Mono)
05 – Much Too Much (Mono)
06 – My Generation (Mono)
07 – The Kids Are Alright (Mono)
08 – Please, Please, Please (Mono)
09 – It’s Not True (Mono)
10 – I’m A Man (Mono)
11 – A Legal Matter (Mono)
12 – The Ox (Mono)
13 – Circles (Mono)
14 – Out In The Street (Stereo)
15 – I Don’t Mind (Stereo)
16 – The Good’s Gone (Stereo)
17 – La-La-La Lies (Stereo)
18 – Much Too Much (Stereo)
19 – My Generation (Stereo)
20 – The Kids Are Alright (Stereo)
21 – Please, Please, Please (Stereo)
22 – It’s Not True (Stereo)
23 – I’m A Man (Stereo)
24 – A Legal Matter (Stereo)
25 – The Ox (Stereo)
26 – Circles (Stereo)

Track 1-12: DSD transferred from 96kHz/24bit by Jon Astley at Close To The Edge Mastering, 2010
96kHz/24bit transferred from analogue master tapes by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering, 2005
Track 13: DSD transferred from analogue master tapes by Adam Boose at Iron Mountain Digital Studios. 2011

Stereo remixes produced by Shel Talmy. Remixed at Cherokee Studios.
Remix engineer: Steve Katz. Digitally remastered by Erick Labson at Universal Mastering Studios, 2003.



%d bloggers like this: