America – Struttin’ Our Stuff (2004) MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

America – Struttin’ Our Stuff (2004)
SACD ISO (2.0/MCH): 4,12 GB | 24B/88,2kHz Stereo FLAC: 1,24 GB | Full Artwork
Label/Cat#: in-akustik # INAK 5507SACD | Country/Year: Germany 2004 | 3% Recovery Info
Genre: Rock, Folk | Style: Folk Rock, Soft Rock, Acoustic

A few years ago, we looked at one of the many concerts in the German Ohne Filter TV series, one that features a different act each episode. In our case here, it was the Pop/Rock band America in their duo form that they have been in since 1979, when one of the three founding members departed. That was on DVD-Video. Now, after a year or so of promising to do no less than Super Audio CD versions of some of the programs in the series, Inakustik has issued the material in SACD under the title Struttin’ Our Stuff in a hybrid multi-channel disc. I have integrated that into the original review as follows.

At their peak in the 1970s, America was a fun Pop band that (thanks in part to some songs cut with Beatles’ producer George Martin), made some memorable songs that marked the era well. The original trio was Brit Dewey Bunnell and Americans Gerry Beckley and Dan Peek. This most popular configuration lasted until 1976, when Peek left for Christian music. Continuing as a duo, they made one comeback with the hit single You Can Do Magic in 1982, which was unlike the more acoustic sound they were known for. The comeback faded. Fast forward to 1999 (June 16th in particular) and they are still together, here in a concert for German TV’s Ohne Filter.

The set runs as follows, with the SACD version offering 2 more tracks than the DVD-Video.


1 Riverside 3:27
2 Ventura Highway 3:46
3 You Can Do Magic 4:05
4 Daisy Jane 3:10
5 Three Roses 3:25
6 I Need You 2:31
7 Wednesday Morning 3:48
8 Pages 3:59
9 Wheels Are Turning 4:33
10 Tin Man 3:57
11 Only In Your Heart 3:06
12 Lonely People 2:34
13 Last Unicorn 3:21
14 From A Moving Train 3:45
15 Sandman 5:56
16 Sister Golden Hair 3:55
17 A Horse With No Name 5:00

Bass – Brad Palmer
Drums – Willie Leacox
Guitar – Mike Woods
Vocals, Guitar – Dewey Bunnell
Vocals, Guitar, Piano – Gerry Beckley



Info + Art

%d bloggers like this: