The New Sound Quartet – Summertime (2005) SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

The New Sound Quartet – Summertime (2005)
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 51:56 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 1,43 GB
or DSD64 2.0 (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,31 GB
or FLAC (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,08 GB
DSD Recording | Label: Eighty Eight’s/Village Records Japan # VRCL-18826

During the ’90s, both Joe Locke and Geoffrey Keezer saw their careers take off with a flurry of compelling CDs as individual leaders. For this album, they joined forces to co-lead the New Sound Quartet, recording for the Japanese label Eighty-Eight’s.

Summertime begins quietly with a shimmering duo arrangement of the famous movement from Rodrigo’s “Concierto De Aranjuez . George Gershwin’s “Summertime is revamped into a furious post-bop vehicle with a dark edge and furious percussion, with Locke switching to marimba for his solo. The quartet’s interpretation of “‘Round Midnight also proves to be refreshing, with Keezer’s jagged piano lines and Locke’s spacey vibes. Keezer’s composition “Captain Jon is instantly infectious with a brisk samba undercurrent while another original, “Port Alexander Moon , is a dramatic waltz, featuring Eddie Henderson’s lyrical muted trumpet and Robert Hurst’s effective bass. Locke also contributed a pair of originals. He begins his wistful “Snowing in Central Park on vibes, briefly showcasing Henderson’s flugelhorn, then moves to marimba for his solo. In contrast is his thunderous “Last Ditch Wisdom , which is full of hairpin turns and fine drumming by Billy Kilson.


01. Concierto de Aranjuez
02. Captain Jon
03. Snowfall In Central Park
04. Summertime
05. Blame It On My Youth
06. ‘Round Midnight
07. Port Alexander Moon
08. Last Ditch Wisdom
09. Bibo No Aozora

Joe Locke – vibraphone, marimba
Geoff Keezer – piano
Robert Hurst – bass
Billy Kilson – drums

Produced by Yasohachi “88” Itoh. Engineered by Yoshihiro Suzuki.
Recorded on March 6, 2005 at Avatar Studio, New York.




%d bloggers like this: