The New Sound Quartet – Summer Knows (2004) SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

The New Sound Quartet – Summer Knows (2004)
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 49:35 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 1,43 GB
or DSD64 2.0 (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,31 GB
or FLAC (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,08 GB
DSD Recording | Label: Eighty Eight’s/Village Records Japan # VRCL-18821

During the ’90s, both Joe Locke and Geoffrey Keezer saw their careers take off with a flurry of compelling CDs as individual leaders. For this album, they joined forces to co-lead the New Sound Quartet, recording for the Japanese label Eighty-Eight’s.

Summer Knows is an equally valuable SACD. One of the greatest challenges jazz musicians face is finding new approaches to standards. The dreamy vamp used to introduce “All the Things You Are” will likely turn some heads, along with its subdued but tense arrangement. Bassist Ed Howard sets up the waltz treatment of “Come Rain Or Come Shine”, as Keezer plays sporadic accompaniment for Locke’s solo. Keezer’s unusual voicings in “Bye Bye Blackbird” help distinguish it from the Miles version. It’s hard to top the dreamy duo interpretation of Michel Legrand’s reflective ballad “Summer Knows”. There are two originals as well. Keezer’s “Tulipia” has a catchy hiphop rhythmic swagger, while Locke’s “The King” is a furious post-bop workout with a vamp that instantly hooks the listener.


01. Tulipa
02. Emily
03. All The Things You Are
04. Dear Old Stockholm
05. Ray Brown Suite, Movement 1
06. The King (For T.M.)
07. Come Rain Or Come Shine
08. Bye Bye Blackbird
09. Summer Knows

Joe Locke – vibraphone
Geoff Keezer – piano
Ed Howard – bass
Terreon Gully – drums

Produced by Yasohachi “88” Itoh. Engineered by Yoshihiro Suzuki.
Recorded on March 22, 2004 at Avatar Studio, New York.




%d bloggers like this: