The Bill Cunliffe Trio – Live At Bernie’s (2001) DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

The Bill Cunliffe Trio – Live At Bernie’s (2001)
DSD64 (.dsf) 1 bit/2,82 MHz | Time – 1:01:09 minutes | 2,42 GB
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 1:01:09 minutes | 1,13 GB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Booklet, Front Cover
Genre: Jazz | © Groove Note

Bill Cunliffe, a leading West Coast pianist and ex-Sinatra, Buddy Rich and Natalie Cole sideman, leads his longtime trio (with Darek Oles, bass, and Joe LaBarbera, drums) in a brilliant and exciting set of standards including “Satin Doll,” “Imagine” and “The Way You Look Tonight.” One of the last direct to disc albums recorded live to lacquer at the Bernie Grundman Mastering studio in Hollywood.

Bill Cunliffe has long been one of Los Angeles’ top jazz pianists. His modern mainstream style is flexible (he can play in idioms ranging from swing to fusion), he has his own voice within the tradition, and he is an underrated composer. On Live at Bernie’s, Cunliffe performs four standards, three of his own originals, and three obscurities, swinging all the way. He is teamed with bassist Darek Oles and drummer Joe Labarbera, both of whom have also played in a countless number of settings in the L.A. area. The trio works closely together, often seeming to think as one. Among the highlights are a slightly reinvented “Satin Doll,” Bill Evans’ “Waltz for Debby” (which is taken much faster than usual), a swinging version of “The Way You Look Tonight,” a surprisingly effective jazz waltz version of Rod McKuen’s “Jean,” Cunliffe’s picturesque “Ireland,” and a thoughtful solo piano interpretation of “Imagine.” But in reality, all ten selections are worth hearing and show off the musicians’ talents quite well. Live At Bernie’s is easily recommended.


01 – Satin Doll
02 – Waltz For Debby
03 – Ireland
04 – Amusing Paramours
05 – Sharon
06 – Jean
07 – Excursions
08 – Like A Dream
09 – The Way You Look Tonight
10 – Imagine

Bill Cunliffe – piano
Darek Oleszkiewicz – bass
Joe La Barbera – drums

Produced by Joe Harley.
Recorded on February 24-25, 2001 by Michael С Ross at Bernie Grundman Mastering, Hollywood, CA.
Mastered by Bernie Grundman – using the Sony Direct Stream Digital™ System.



%d bloggers like this: