Ted Rosenthal Trio – The King And I (2006) [Japan 2018] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Ted Rosenthal Trio – The King And I (2006) [Japan 2018]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 51:47 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,08 GB
or FLAC Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/48 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 628 MB

Ted Rosenthal is one of the leading jazz pianists of his generation. He actively tours worldwide with his trio, as a soloist, and has performed with many jazz greats, including Gerry Mulligan, Art Farmer, Phil Woods, Bob Brookmeyer, and James Moody. He is the winner of the 2nd Thelonious Monk International Jazz Piano Competition in 1988. He is also very active in jazz education as a faculty member of The Juilliard School and Manhattan School of Music. Rosenthal executed this somewhat adventurous idea beautifully and made a delightful piano trio album. His impressive arrangement skills are on full display, and his superb supporting cast George Mraz and Lewis Nash more than rises to the challenge of turning sometimes tricky compositions into a romping, swinging affair. This is a wonderful, fun and swinging piano trio album. Enthusiastically recommended.

Even those who’ve heard songs like “Shall We Dance?” and “Hello, Young Lovers” may not realize that they come from a single musical The King and I. And there are very few jazz albums entirely dedicated to the songs from the musical, written by Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II. That is exactly what they did here.

Rodgers & Hammerstein’s The King and I, a musical adaptation of Anna and the King of Siam, was a huge hit on Broadway, resulting in a hit film and several revivals. Jazz musicians have included “Hello, Young Lovers” in their repertoire for years and there have been a few who have done an entire album devoted to music from the show. But Ted Rosenthal’s 2006 recording is one of the few since the heyday of interest from the ’50s to focus exclusively on this wonderful music. The pianist is well accompanied by bassist George Mraz and drummer Lewis Nash. Opening with a solemn “My Lord and Master,” the mood quickly shifts with a tasty midtempo setting of “Shall We Dance?” The loping “I Whistle a Happy Tune” has a whimsical country air, while the lush, dreamy arrangement of “We Kiss in a Shadow” is full of romance. “Getting to Know You” is transformed with a brisk, breezy chart. “March of the Siamese Children” is among the most dramatic offerings, while David Hazeltine adds a catchy vamp in his workout of “Hello, Young Lovers” (a favorite of the late pianist Jaki Byard). There’s plenty of life in songs from old musicals, particularly anything written by Rodgers & Hammerstein, as Rosenthal and company demonstrate in this delightful album.


01. My Lord And Master
02. Shall We Dance?
03. I Have Dreamed
04. I Whistle A Happy Tune
05. We Kiss In A Shadow
06. Getting To Know You
07. Something Wonderful
08. March Of The Siamese Children
09. Hello, Young Lovers

Ted Rosenthal – piano
George Mraz – bass
Lewis Nash – drums

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by Katherine Miller.
Recorded on March 23, 2006 at The Studio in New York.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-305.







%d bloggers like this: