The Beach Boys – Pet Sounds (1966/2015/2017) DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

The Beach Boys – Pet Sounds (1966/2015/2017)
DSD64 (.dsf) 1 bit/2,82 MHz | Time – 1:14:41 minutes | 2,94 GB
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/176,4 kHz | Time – 1:14:41 minutes | 3,25 GB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Artwork: Digital Booklet,  Front Cover
Genre: Rock, Pop | ©  Analogue Productions

Pet Sounds is famous for its use of multiple layers of unorthodox instrumentation as well as other cutting edge audio techniques for its time. It’s considered the best Beach Boys album, and one of the best of the 1960s. The group here reached a whole new level in terms of both composition and production, layering tracks upon tracks of vocals and instruments to create a richly symphonic sound. It’s been ranked No. 1 in several music magazines’ lists of the greatest albums of all time, including NME, The Times and Mojo Magazine. It was ranked No. 2 in Rolling Stone’s 500 Greatest Albums of All Time list.

Brian Wilson, the primary songwriter for The Beach Boys, stated that he was inspired to write this album from the Beatles’ Rubber Soul album. In turn, Pet Sounds went on to inspire Lennon and McCartney to write Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band. Indeed, the album is a musical masterpiece in a number of ways. Brian painstakingly recorded session after session in the studio with the other brothers until he finally arrived at the exact music and vocal quality he wanted. As a result, with its professionalism and diversity, Pet Sounds sounds like no other Beach Boy album. Many have said that Brian reached his creative peak during these sessions and influenced so many other recording artists with his unique, new style.


01 – Wouldn’t It Be Nice (Stereo)
02 – You Still Believe In Me (Stereo)
03 – That’s Not Me (Stereo)
04 – Don’t Talk (Put your head on My Shoulder) (Stereo)
05 – I’m Waiting for the Day (Stereo)
06 – Let’s Go Away for Awhile (Stereo)
07 – Sloop John B (Stereo)
08 – God Only Knows (Stereo)
09 – I Know There’s An Answer (Stereo)
10 – Here Today (Stereo)
11 – I Just Wasn’t Made for These Times (Stereo)
12 – Pet Sounds (Stereo)
13 – Caroline No (Stereo)
14 – Wouldn’t It Be Nice (Mono)
15 – You Still Believe In Me (Mono)
16 – That’s Not Me (Mono)
17 – Don’t Talk (Put your head on My Shoulder) (Mono)
18 – I’m Waiting for the Day (Mono)
19 – Let’s Go Away for Awhile (Mono)
20 – Sloop John B (Mono)
21 – God Only Knows (Mono)
22 – I Know There’s An Answer (Mono)
23 – Here Today (Mono)
24 – I Just Wasn’t Made for These Times (Mono)
25 – Pet Sounds (Mono)
26 – Caroline No (Mono)

Original Mono mix produced by Brian Wilson.
Stereo mix produced by Mark Linett under the supervision of Brian Wilson. Mixed by Mark Linett.
Pet Sounds was mixed from an assembled digital multi-track master that synced the original 4 track master instrumental with the 4 or 8 track vocal overdub master.
The stereo mix was mixed to 15 ips 1/4″ analog tape with SR noise reduction.
Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio, most from the original master tapes or best sources available.
DSD Download authored by Gus Skinas.



%d bloggers like this: