Super Trio – Super Standard (2004) [Japan 2015] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Super Trio – Super Standard (2004) [Japan 2015]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 66:51 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,72 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,32 GB

Super Standard is an album by pianist Kenny Barron, bassist Jay Leonhart and drummer Al Foster (billed for contractual reasons as the Super Trio) recorded in New York in 2004 and released on the Japanese Venus label.

Super Trio is the name given by the Japanese Venus label to a trio of Manhattan based musicians, consisting of pianist Kenny Barron, bassist Jay Leonhart, and drummer Al Foster. Contractual reasons may have prevented the CD’s release under Barron’s name and like many Venus dates, this is not a working trio, but one assembled for the record date. As one of the busiest pianists around, Barron has a wealth of music at his fingertips and he doesn’t disappoint with fresh approaches to standards and jazz compositions that make up this session. Leonhart occasionally shows a sense of humor in his solos, while Foster is a capable drummer who has worked with many stars, in addition to occasionally recording as a leader. The driving “All of Me” is a nice switch from the typical relaxed arrangement, while the Latin-flavored take of Bud Powell’s “Cleopatra’s Dream” swings. Barron’s scoring of “Misty” proves lyrical and spacious, while he personalizes Duke Ellington’s rarely performed “Sunset and the Mockingbird” with his distinctive touch. It is difficult not to think of Art Tatum when one sees “Willow Weep for Me” followed by “Yesterdays,” but Tatum was not on Barron’s mind for these performances. The former is a showcase for Leonhart’s masterful arco playing, with the latter being a bouncy post-bop rendition of this old chestnut.


01. All Of Me
02. Bye Bye Blackbird
03. Cherokee
04. Cleopatra’s Dream
05. Doxy
06. Misty
07. Stolen Moments
08. Summer Night
09. Sunset And The Mockingbird
10. Sweet And Lovely
11. Willow Weep For Me
12. Yesterdays

Kenny Barron – piano
Jay Leonhart – bass
Al Foster – drums

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by David Darlington.
Recorded at Avatar Studio in New York on September 7, 2004.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-82.



%d bloggers like this: