Susannah McCorkle – From Bessie To Brazil (1993) [Reissue 2003] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Susannah McCorkle – From Bessie To Brazil (1993) [Reissue 2003]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 59:44 minutes | Scans included | 3,51 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,27 GB
Features Stereo and Multichannel Surround Sound | Concord Records # SACD-1017-6 | Genre: Jazz

The selections on this album span 70 years of popular song, because the more Susannah felt she knows about singers and songs, the more she adores the women who started it all: the great Empress of the Blues, Bessie Smith, and the mother of all modern popular singing, Ethel Waters. She also feels a great affinity for Brazilian songs, the sound of the language and the sadness and seriousness of the lyrics, and they too are included here.

For this Concord release, singer Susannah McCorkle alternates vintage standards and obscurities with some more recent songs such as “The Waters Of March,” and Dave Frishberg’s “Quality Time,” and Paul Simon’s “Still Crazy After All These Years.” The bread and butter is still the older tunes and among the highlights are “The Lady Is A Tramp,” “My Sweetie Went Away,” “Hit The Road To Dreamland” and a remake of “The People That You Never Get To Love.” McCorkle is joined by four horns (including trumpeter Randy Sandke and Ken Peplowski on tenor and clarinet) plus a rhythm section led by her pianist Allen Farnham who also serves as her musical director. A fine all-round showcase for the talented singer.


01. Love
02. The People That You Never Get To Love
03. Thief in the Night
04. The Waters of March
05. Ac-cent-tchu-ate the Positive
06. How Deep is the Ocean?
07. The Lady is a Tramp
08. Quality Time
09. My Sweetie Went Away
10. Still Crazy After All These Years
11. Adeus America
12. That Ole Devil Called Love
13. Hit the Road to Dreamland
14. You Go To My Head

Susannah McCorkle – vocals
Dick Oatts – alto saxophone, flute
Ken Peplowski – tenor saxophone, clarinet
Randy Sandke – trumpet, flugelhorn
Robin Trowers – trombone
Allen Farnham – piano
Howard Alden – guitar
Kiyoshi Kitagawa – bass
Chuck Redd – drums

Produced by Carl E. Jefferson. Engineered by Paul Wickliffe.
Recorded on February 1-3, 1993 at Skyline Studios in New York City.
SACD 5.1 Mix Engineer: Phil Edwards.



%d bloggers like this: