New York Trio – The Things We Did Last Summer (2002) [Japan 2003] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

New York Trio – The Things We Did Last Summer (2002) [Japan 2003]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 59:57 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,41 GB
or Studio Master, Official Digital Download FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Front Cover | 1,36 GB

Also known as the New York Jazz Trio, this combo is a studio-only group who specialize in recording classic standards in a straightforward, post-bop style. The New York Trio features three gifted musicians who are firmly established on the East Coast jazz scene. Pianist Bill Charlap is a member of the Phil Woods Quintet, has accompanied the likes of Tony Bennett, Benny Carter, and Gerry Mulligan, and has recorded a handful of well-received albums for Blue Note as a bandleader. Bassist Jay Leonhart has recorded as a headliner since 1983, while also making a name for himself as a vocalist and songwriter as well as backing up Marian McPartland, Louie Bellson, Lee Konitz, and many others. And drummer Bill Stewart had handled demanding gigs with a variety of musicians, including jazz guitarist John Scofield, funky sax man Maceo Parker and R&B legend James Brown. They make this record for the Japanese market.

The relaxed tone of this album is set from the beginning, with Bill Charlap’s quiet, spare solo reading of “The Shadow of Your Smile.” On the next track, the others join in for some mellow and friendly swinging: Jay Leonhart’s big, fat bass grounds Charlap’s dreaminess, while Bill Stewart, who’s left his sticks at home for this date, brushes up the tempo with subtlety and style. This release offers thoughtful solo piano (also on “Mona Lisa”), slow, romantic ballads (“How Long Has This Been Going On,” “Paper Moon”), and tasty mid-tempo treatments (“As Time Goes By,” “When Your Lover Has Gone”). While there are no barnburners, the heat rises to a steady simmer on “You’d Be So Nice…” and “How High the Moon,” where the players are audibly enjoying themselves. Leonhart’s solos are consistently interesting, drizzled with wit, and the ever-lyrical Charlap provides rarely heard verses to six of these nine classic tunes. The album will lease those who like their jazz served straight up and pared down to essentials; its simplicity is deceptive, given the level of expertise and feeling throughout.


01. The Shadow Of Your Smile
02. The Things We Did Last Summer
03. How Long Has This Been Going On?
04. How High The Moon
05. Mona Lisa
06. You’d Be So Nice To Come Home To
07. It’s Only A Paper Moon
08. When Your Lover Has Gone
09. As Time Goes By

Bill Charlap – piano
Jay Leonhart – bass
Bill Stewart – drums

Produced by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by Katherine Miller.
Recorded on April 3-4, 2002 at The Studio in New York.
Mastered & Mixed by Shuji Kitamura & Tetsuo Hara in VENUS 24bit Hyper Magnum Sound.
VENUS Japan # VKGV-10.



%d bloggers like this: