New York Trio – Thou Swell (2007) [Japan 2016] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

New York Trio – Thou Swell (2007) [Japan 2016]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 55:02 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,24 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,06 GB

The New York Trio, consisting of pianist Bill Charlap, bassist Jay Leonhart, and drummer Bill Stewart, have created quite a stir in Japan, as they have entered the studio regularly to record for the Japanese Venus Jazz label at the start of the 21st century. Their sixth CD for the label, Thou Swell draws from the songbook of Richard Rodgers and Lorenz Hart, a composer/lyricist combo who wrote many songs that became standards. As a result, a number of these songs have been frequently recorded by jazz musicians and seem in danger of overexposure. But Charlap is a thoughtful arranger, playing “My Funny Valentine” complete with the usually omitted verse that sets up the song while playing it at a very deliberate tempo, resulting in a stunningly different take. The pendulum-like introduction added to the breezy “I Didn’t Know What Time It Was” is fun, as is the lush setting of the infrequently performed “That’s for Me.” Some pieces can’t help but cover familiar ground, but that doesn’t detract from these enjoyable performances.


01. Thou Swell
02. My Funny Valentine
03. I Didn’t Know What Time It Was
04. Where Or When
05. My Heart Stood Still
06. That’s For Me
07. Have You Met Miss Jones?
08. There’s A Small Hotel
09. With A Song In My Heart
10. Wait Till You See Her

Bill Charlap – piano
Jay Leonhart – bass
Bill Stewart – drums

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by Katherine Miller.
Recorded at Clinton Studio in New York on September 31 & October 1, 2006.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-146.



%d bloggers like this: