David Hazeltine Trio – Cleopatra’s Dream (2006) [Japan 2015] SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

David Hazeltine Trio – Cleopatra’s Dream (2006) [Japan 2015]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 56:02 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,28 GB
or DSD64 2.0 (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front/Rear Covers | 2,22 GB
or FLAC (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/48 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,14 GB

David Hazeltine is one of the best pianists and arrangers of our time. For a while now he has been releasing albums dedicated to specific musicians and composers. For Cleopatra’s Dream, Hazeltine performed compositions by the legendary Bud Powell. For most pianists, it would be a formidable task to rework Powell’s compositions as he was a respected guitarist who could play the instrument as well as anyone. Hazeltine wildly succeeds by not trying to ape Powell’s unique style but rather by bringing out the elegant melodies and tenderness of the compositions.

George Mraz on bass and Billy Drummond on drums provide exceptional support and add dazzling solos. The title of Hazeltine’s only composition on the album says it all: “This One’s for Bud”.

The capable New York City-based pianist David Hazeltine dives head first into the music of Bud Powell on these 2005 sessions with veteran bassist George Mraz and drummer Billy Drummond. His straight-ahead interpretation of “Tempus Fugit” is full of energy yet without the quirky stop-and-go flavor of many recordings. “Wail” is a light-hearted affair, while the trio saunters through an easygoing take of “Bouncing with Bud.” Hazeltine’s dexterity is put to the test with a brisk rendition of “Dance of the Infidels,” while his lyrical approach to the ballad “I’ll Keep Loving You” also merits praise. Some of Powell’s less frequently performed numbers are also explored, including the playful “Danceland” that showcases Hazeltine’s partners at length, along with a breezy Latin-flavored setting of “Cleopatra’s Dream”. The disc wraps with “This One’s for Bud”, a fine salute to Powell by the pianist.


01. Cleopatra’s Dream
02. Tempus Fugit
03. Glass Enclosure
04. Wail
05. Bouncing With Bud
06. Danceland
07. Strictly Confidential
08. Dance Of Infidels
09. I’ll Keep Loving You
10. This One’s For Bud

David Hazeltine – piano
George Mraz – bass
Billy Drummond – drums

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by Katharine Miller.
Recorded at Avatar Studio in New York on June 24-25, 2005.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-86.







%d bloggers like this: