Bill Evans Trio – Waltz for Debby (1961) [Hybrid-SACD ReIssue 2002] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Bill Evans Trio – Waltz for Debby (1961) [Hybrid-SACD ReIssue 2002]
SACD ISO (Stereo): 3,02 GB | 24B/88,2kHz Stereo FLAC: 1,24 GB | Full Artwork | 3% Recovery Info
Label/Cat#: Analogue Productions # CAPJ 9399 SA | Country/Year: Europe 2002
Genre: Jazz | Style: Post Bop

Years ago, having heard this was one of the best jazz records ever, I bought the CD, finding it indifferently mastered and mildly boring. In view of the high regard for this recording, I have retried it every now and then, reestablishing the same impressions.
The SACD reincarnation transformed all this. Listening to the same music has become infinitely more involving, a sensual experience.
Yes, the recording has its very apparent shortcomings: the piano, slightly coarse, comes out of the right speaker only; the drums and the somewhat bigger-than-life double-bass come from the left speaker only; there is hardly any middle, except for audience noises.
However, what presence and tangibility! In spite of these shortcomings and being “only stereo”, this is still one of the best-sounding SACDs I have had the pleasure of hearing. Actually, audience noises and clicking of glasses only add to the feeling of “being THERE”, much more so than, say, in the audiophile classic Jazz at the Pawnshop, Vol. 1 – Arne Domnerus in its newer (2005) remastering. Recommended!

review by Thom Jurek
Recorded at the Village Vanguard in 1961, shortly before Scott LaFaro’s death, Waltz for Debby is the second album issued from that historic session, and the final one from that legendary trio that also contained drummer Paul Motian. While the Sunday at the Village Vanguard album focused on material where LaFaro soloed prominently, this is far more a portrait of the trio on those dates. Evans chose the material here, and, possibly, in some unconscious way, revealed on these sessions — and the two following LaFaro’s death (Moonbeams and How My Heart Sings!) — a different side of his musical personality that had never been displayed on his earlier solo recordings or during his tenures with Miles Davis and George Russell: Evans was an intensely romantic player, flagrantly emotional, and that is revealed here in spades on tunes such as “My Foolish Heart” and “Detour Ahead.” There is a kind of impressionistic construction to his harmonic architecture that plays off the middle registers and goes deeper into its sonances in order to set into motion numerous melodic fragments simultaneously. The rhythmic intensity that he displayed as a sideman is evident here in “Milestones,” with its muscular shifting time signature and those large, flatted ninths with the right hand. The trio’s most impressive interplay is in “My Romance,” after Evans’ opening moments introducing the changes. Here Motian’s brushwork is delicate, flighty and elegant, and LaFaro controls the dynamic of the tune with his light as a feather pizzicato work and makes Evans’ deeply emotional statements swing effortlessly. Of the many recordings Evans issued, the two Vanguard dates and Explorations are the ultimate expressions of his legendary trio. allmusicguide


1 My Foolish Heart 5:05
2 Waltz For Debby 6:57
3 Detour Ahead 7:37
4 My Romance 7:13
5 Some Other Time 5:09
6 Milestones 6:32
7 Waltz For Debby (Take 1) 6:52
8 Detour Ahead (Take 1) 7:19
9 My Romance (Take 2) 7:17
10 Porgy (I Loves You, Porgy) 6:09

Tracks 7-10 are bonus tracks.

Made in Germany



Info + Art

%d bloggers like this: