Bill Evans with Jeremy Stieg – What’s New (1963) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2011] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Bill Evans with Jeremy Stieg – What’s New (1963) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2011]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 44:42 minutes | Scans NOT included | 1,79 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans NOT included | 908 MB

This reissue has the debut of drummer Marty Morell with Bill Evans and bassist Eddie Gomez; that particular trio would keep the same personnel for six productive years. Actually this is a quartet set with guest flutist Jeremy Steig, whose playing recalls Herbie Mann’s recording (Nirvana) with Evans back in the early ’60s. Both flutists were always open to the influences of pop and rock although in both of their collaborations with Bill Evans, the music is very much on the pianist’s turf. With the exception of Evans’ “Time Out for Chris” and the “Spartacus Love Theme,” the songs performed on this date would fit securely in the Miles Davis repertoire of the late ’50s. Steig is in particularly fine form on the program which includes tunes such as “Straight No Chaser”, “Autumn Leaves” and “So What”.


01. Straight No Chaser
02. Lover Man
03. What’s New
04. Autumn Leaves
05. Time Out For Chris
06. Spartacus Love Theme
07. So What

Bill Evans – piano
Jeremy Steig – flute
Eddie Gómez – bass
Marty Morell – drums



%d bloggers like this: