Art Of Noise – Daft (1986) [Reissue 2003] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Art Of Noise – Daft (1986) [Reissue 2003]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 61:04 minutes | Basic covers included | 4,07 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Basic covers included | 1,21 GB
Features Stereo & Multichannel Surround Sound / ZTT Records Ltd. # ZTT-184 SACD | Genre: Electronica

Daft is a compilation collecting the Art of Noise LP Who’s Afraid of the Art Of Noise? (with one track, “Snapshot”, appearing in a longer version than on the original UK LP, but previously released on the Japanese version), along with portions of the Into Battle with the Art of Noise EP and “Moments in Love” remix single. It gives a fairly thorough overview of the Trevor Horn period of the group, prior to its split from the ZTT label. In 2003 the album was re-released on Super Audio CD.

The place for Art of Noise neophytes to start, Daft collects (Who’s Afraid Of?) The Art of Noise! and Into Battle with the Art of Noise, along with two reworkings of “Moments in Love” from the original U.K. release of that song, to make a fantastic hour’s worth of music. If anything, a single or two aside, Daft beats out the official Best Of compilation by a mile. Having aged superbly with time, AON’s early works sound all the more advanced and of the moment, a testament especially to Trevor Horn’s excellent production and Anne Dudley’s gripping arrangements. Further entertainment comes from the liner notes, which aren’t merely state-of-the-art 1984 album design but an apparently barbed attack on the further incarnation of the band from one Otto Flake. The exact seriousness of this is up to the reader. As for the “Moments in Love” versions, both are gentler and more elegant than the already lush original, and none the worse for that, though “(Three Fingers Of) Love” does have rather disconcerting sound effects added to it.


01. Love
02. A Time For Fear (Who’s Afraid)
03. Beat Box (Diversion 1)
04. The Army Now
05. Donna
06. Memento
07. How To Kill
08. Realisation
09. Who’s Afraid (Of The Art Of Noise)
10. Moments In Love
11. Bright Noise
12. Flesh In Armour
13. Comes And Goes
14. Snapshot
15. Close (To The Edit)
16. (Three Fingers Of) Love

Produced by Trevor Horn. Recorded in 1983-84.

Tracks 2-3, 6-9, and 14-15 from Who’s Afraid of the Art Of Noise? LP (with track 14, “Snapshot”, appearing here in a longer form).
Tracks 4-5, and 10-13 from Into Battle with the Art of Noise EP.
Tracks 1 & 16 from Moments in Love 12″ single.



%d bloggers like this: