Lang Lang, St. Petersburg Philharmonic – Live At The Proms (2002) MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Lang Lang, St. Petersburg Philharmonic – Live At The Proms (2002)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 60:33 minutes | Scans included | 4,21 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,27 GB
Recorded in DSD. Features Stereo and Multichannel surround sound | Telarc # SACD-60582

Recorded during live concert performances, Lang Lang’s second Telarc release justifies all the positive buzz surrounding this young pianist’s rapidly ascending international career. He brings plenty of finger power and long-lined drama to Rachmaninov’s ubiquitous Third Concerto, yet takes plenty of time to let the lyrical, soaring tunes spin without an inkling of self-indulgence. He admirably adjusts the piano part to accompany when he doesn’t bear the melodic burden, and he gets more expressive mileage from transitions than many pianists do. For once, the thicker, more difficult first movement cadenza doesn’t sound unwieldy and elephantine. The piano is a little too prominent in the mix next to Temirkanov’s sensitively detailed, flowing orchestral support. While Lang Lang has not fully internalized the quivering underbelly of Scriabin’s passionate keyboard writing, his poised and secure readings of 10 Etudes still boast plenty of dynamism, idiomatic nuance, and roaring, Horowitz-like octaves.


01 – Rachmaninoff Concerto No. 3: I. Allegro ma non tanto
02 – Rachmaninoff Concerto No. 3: II. Intermezzo: Adagio
03 – Rachmaninoff Concerto No. 3: III. Finale: Alla breve
04 – Encore: Liu Yang River (arr. Wang Jian-Zhong)
05 – Scriabin: Etude Op. 2, No. 1: in C-sharp minor
06 – Scriabin: Etude Op. 8, No. 2: in F-sharp minor
07 – Scriabin: Etude Op. 8, No. 3: in B minor
08 – Scriabin: Etude Op. 8, No. 8: in A-flat major
09 – Scriabin: Etude Op. 8, No. 10: in D-flat major
10 – Scriabin: Etude Op. 8, No. 11: in B-flat minor
11 – Scriabin: Etude Op. 8, No. 12: in D-sharp minor
12 – Scriabin: Etude Op. 42, No. 4: in F-sharp major
13 – Scriabin: Etude Op. 42, No. 3: in F-sharp major
14 – Scriabin: Etude Op. 65, No. 3: in G major

Tracks “1-4” recorded at the Proms, The Royal Albert Hall, London, August 22, 2001
Tracks “5-14” recorded at Warner Concert Hall, Oberlin College, Ohio, October 20, 2001



%d bloggers like this: