David Honeyboy Edwards – Shake ‘Em On Down (1999) [APO Reissue 2000] SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

David Honeyboy Edwards – Shake ‘Em On Down (1999) [APO Reissue 2000]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 61:51 minutes | Front/Rear Covers +PDF | 1,73 GB
or DSD64 2.0 (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front/Rear Covers+PDF booklet | 1,73 GB
or FLAC (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Front/Rear Covers+PDF booklet | 1,33 GB

This 1999 session finds Honeyboy working his acoustic magic in the company of Madison Slim on harmonica and Jimmy D. Lane, son of the late Jimmy Rogers, on second guitar. Recorded at the Blue Heaven Studios (a converted church) in Salina, Kansas, this is a pretty inspired session with Edwards running through old classics like Charlie Patton’s “High Water Everywhere” and “Pony Blues”, “Drop Down Mama”, “Shake ‘Em on Down”, “Anna Lee”, “Bullfrog Blues”, and “Monkey Face Woman”. As an added bonus, there’s also an interview with this fascinating bluesman, making this session a real keeper. One of his best.

Once again, Analog Productions has produced a valuable addition to the annals of American recorded music with this jookin’ and jivin’ journey through 70 years of Delta blues by the legendary Honeyboy Edwards. He may be 84 now, but when his fingers pluck and bend and slide over the strings of his big acoustic guitar, Honeyboy suddenly becomes 20 again, and those listening are magically transported into a lost world where Robert Johnson, or Sonny Boy Williamson, or Charley Patton might enter any minute. Opening with a vigorous rendition of Patton’s geo-sexual take on the great 1927 flood, “High Water Everywhere,” followed by down-home standards “Drop Down Mama,” “Shake ‘Em On Down,” and Patton’s signature song, “Pony Blues,” Edwards informs his voice and guitar work with an unforgettably vital sense of musical expression, particularly of his beloved, ever-thriving country blues.


01. High Water Everywhere
02. Drop Down Mama
03. Monkey Face Woman
04. Shake ‘Em On Down
05. Louise Louise Blues
06. Pony Blues
07. Anna Lee
08. Standing On The Corner
09. West Memphis Blues
10. Bald Headed Woman
11. Bullfrog Blues
12. Gambling Man
13. Take Me In Your Arms
14. Interview
15. Lord I Got To Go

Honeyboy Edwards – vocals, guitar
Madison Slim – harmonica
Jimmy D. Lane – guitar

Produced by Chad Kassem. Co-Produced by Jimmy D. Lane.
Recorded by Katsuhiko Naito on February 20-21, 1999 at Blue Heaven Studios, Salina, KS.
Mastered for this SACD by Kevin Gray at AcousTech Mastering.










%d bloggers like this: