The Main Ingredient – Euphrates River (1974) [Reissue 2016] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

The Main Ingredient – Euphrates River (1974) [Reissue 2016]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 34:28 minutes | Scans included | 1,57 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 710 MB
Features Stereo and Multichannel surround sound | Label: Vocalion # 8524

While nothing soared as high as “Everybody Plays a Fool” from the Bitter Sweet LP, Euphrates River is tighter and has more zap than the previous year’s beautiful but hitless Afrodisiac. They nailed Seals & Croft’s “Summer Breeze” — the New Yorkers almost surpassed the Isley Brothers’ soulful version. Cuba Gooding sings the upbeat and funky “California My Way” from the heart (the soul singer moved his family to L.A. — the only Main Ingredient to do so). The trio gives Stevie Wonder’s “Don’t You Worry About a Thing” all they can muster; this is an excellent rendition that should have done better on the charts. Their version of “Just Don’t Want to Be Lonely” helped sell this LP; it was previously done by Blue Magic and Ronnie Dyson, but the Main Ingredient’s version reigns supreme. Rolling, midtempo beaters make up the bulk of the tunes with “Euphrates” and “Happiness Is Just Around the Bend” as prime examples.


01. Euphrates
02. Have You Ever Tried It
03. Summer Breeze
04. California My Way
05. Happiness is Just around the Bend
06. Looks Like Rain
07. Dont You Worry bout a Thing
08. Just Dont Want to Be Lonely

Remastered from original analog tapes by Michael J. Dutton.



%d bloggers like this: