Vanessa Fernandez – When The Levee Breaks (2016) SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Vanessa Fernandez – When The Levee Breaks (2016)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 51:17 minutes | Scans included | 1,52 GB
or DSD64 2.0 (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Full Scans included | 1,32 GB
or FLAC (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,17 GB

Vanessa Mary Fernandez is a singer and radio presenter from Singapore. She released several albums with the now defunct hip-hop groups, Urban Xchange and Parking Lot Pimp and is now more popularly known by her moniker, Vandetta on Mediacorp Radio’s 987FM. On this album Vanessa Fernandez covers Led Zeppelin tunes in “unplugged” acoustic arrangements. The recording is 100% pure analog engineered by Michael C. Ross at United Recordings (the former Ocean Way), one of the world’s top recording venues. Players on the set include Use Me guitarist/arranger Tim Pierce, Jim Keltner on drums, ex-Jane’s Addiction bassist Chris Chaney, percussionist Luis Conte (James Taylor, Santana, Eric Clapton, Al Di Meola) and keyboardist Jim Cox (Mark Knopfler, Lyle Lovett, Willie Nelson, Alison Krauss).

This album boasts top-notch production quality, including an all-analog recording, mastering by Bernie Grundman, and an all-star cast of studio musicians. Engineer Michael C. Ross’ claim that the record which boasts remarkably clean, transparent, and realistic sound—echoes the golden age of audio seems reasonable, but in theory these pristinely-recorded and mostly-acoustic performances move into dangerous territory by reshaping some old-school raunch ’n’ roll. Actually, though, that’s part of the fun—take a huge, billowing sound, scale it down, have a woman sing some very male-centric songs, and see what happens. The best cuts succeed for different reasons. Drummer Jim Keltner and bassist Chris Chaney lay down a killer groove on “Kashmir,” where violinist Charlie Bisharat adds a wild streak; he also brings some edginess to “Immigrant Song.” Instead of swagger, Fernandez uses sly seduction to state her case on “Black Dog.” At the beginning of “Babe I’m Gonna Leave You” she sounds emotionally drained, like she’s been waiting all night to break the news to her lover. As the song progresses she gains strength but not conviction, as if the person she’s really trying (and failing) to convince is herself—a fine reading of a great song.


01. Immigrant Song
02. Black Dog
03. Kashmir
04. Trampled Underfoot
05. When The Levee Breaks
06. The Lemon Song
07. Whole Lotta Love (Acoustic)
08. Ramble On
09. Babe I’m Gonna Leave You
10. Immigrant Song (Acoustic)

Vanessa Fernandez – Vocals
Tim Pearce – Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar, Electric Bass
Charlie Bisharat – Violin
Jim Cox – Keyboards
Chris Chaney – Electric Bass
Jim Keltner – Drums
Luis Conte – Percussion

Produced by Michael C. Ross & Ying Tan. Arranged by Tim Pearce.
Recorded by Michael C. Ross & Wesley Seidman at United Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA.
Mixed by Michael C. Ross. Mastered by Bernie Grundman at Bernie Grundman Mastering.




%d bloggers like this: