The Wallflowers – Red Letter Days (2002) [SACD Reissue 2004] MCH SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

The Wallflowers – Red Letter Days (2002) [SACD Reissue 2004]
PS3 Rip | ISO | SACD DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 48:50 mins | Scans included | 3,4 GB
or DSD64 Stereo (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Full Scans included | 1,94 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,03 GB

As part of the mid-’90s revival of roots-rock, the Wallflowers held a special connection to one of the original inspirations: vocalist/songwriter/guitarist Jakob Dylan. Though he is the son of a legend, Jakob’s similarities to his father are occasional — in fact, the Wallflowers are more influenced by Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers than original ’60s folk-rock, though lyrically, Jakob remains a close companion to the original Bob Dylan. Red Letter Days is fourth album by The Wallflowers.

The Wallflowers’ long-awaited third album, Breach, was a strong, confident record that demonstrated clear growth from Jakob Dylan as a songwriter and The Wallflowers as a band. Thing is, everybody ignored it. Critics wrote it off and the large audience Bringing Down the Horse attracted shunned it, leaving the band in an awkward position of having to prove themselves yet again with their fourth album, Red Letter Days. The first striking thing about the album is that its production is a clear reaction to the failure of Breach. Glistening where its predecessor had a semblance of grit, this is a polished mainstream rock record, designed to win back listeners who loved the band by hearing “One Headlight” on the radio repeatedly. Dylan has adjusted his songwriting slightly, too, playing up the hooks and the melodies, which is hardly selling out. Even so, it’s hard not to wish that the album had a bit more of the quirks and muscle that gave Breach its backbone. Without it, Red Letter Days isn’t quite as forceful, but it is accomplished, melodic, and attractive, especially since the simple fact is, there are very few bands making this kind of post-Tom Petty classicist rock in the 2000s, and those that do don’t do it as well, which is why this album is welcome, no matter how glossy the production is.


01. When You’re On Top
02. How Good Can It Get
03. Closer 2 U
04. Everybody Out Of The Water
05. Three Ways
06. Too Late To Quit
07. If You Never Got Sick
08. Health And Happiness
09. See You When I Get There
10. Feels Like Summer
11. Everything I Need
12. Pleasantville
13. Empire In My Mind

– Jakob Dylan: lead vocals, lead and rhythm guitar
– Stuart Mathis: guitar
– Rami Jaffee: keyboards, backing vocals
– Greg Richling: bass guitar
– Mario Calire: drums and percussion

All Songs written by Jacob Dylan.
Produced by Tobias Miller & Bill Appleberry.
Recorded at Groovemasters, Soundcity & Record One (All in LA, CA.)
Mixed by Tom Lord-Alge at South Beach Studios, Miami, FL.
Mastered by Robert Vosgien at Capitol Studios, Hollywood, CA.
Surround Sound Mix by Ed Cherney at Capitol Studios, Hollywood, CA.
Mastered for SACD by Stephen Marcussen at Marcussen Mastering, Hollywood, CA.




%d bloggers like this: