Billy Joel – Greatest Hits: Volume I & Volume II (1985) [MFSL 2017] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Billy Joel – Greatest Hits: Volume I & Volume II (1985) [MFSL 2017]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 117:28 minutes | Scans included | 4,76 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 2,32 GB
2x SACD / Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab # UDSACD 2-2121 | Genre: Rock

Although it’s missing a few important (not to mention big) hits, Greatest Hits, Vols. 1 & 2 is an excellent retrospective of the first half of Billy Joel’s career. Beginning with “Piano Man,” the first disc runs through a number of early songs before arriving at the hit-making days of the late ’70s; some of these songs, including “Captain Jack” and “New York State of Mind,” weren’t strictly hits, but were popular numbers within his stage show and became radio hits. Once the songs from The Stranger arrive halfway through the first disc, there’s no stopping the hits (although “Scenes From an Italian Restaurant,” an album track from The Stranger, manages its way onto the collection). In fact, over the next disc and a half, there’s so many hits, it’s inevitable that some are left off – to be specific, “Honesty,” “Sometimes a Fantasy,” “An Innocent Man,” “Leave a Tender Moment,” and “Keeping the Faith” aren’t included. But all the other hits – including “Just the Way You Are,” “Only the Good Die Young,” “My Life,” “You May Be Right,” “It’s Still Rock and Roll to Me,” “Don’t Ask Me Why,” “Allentown,” “Tell Her About It” and “Uptown Girl,” among many others – are present and accounted for, as are two new songs (“You’re Only Human (Second Wind),” “The Night Is Still Young”) that became hits as well. In short, Greatest Hits, Vols. 1 & 2 does its job perfectly, encapsulating exactly why Billy Joel was one of the most popular singer/songwriters of the late ’70s and early ’80s.


Disc 1 – Volume I: 1973-1977
01. Piano Man
02. Captain Jack
03. The Entertainer
04. Say Goodbye To Hollywood
05. New York State Of Mind
06. The Stranger
07. Scenes From An Italian Restaurant
08. Just The Way You Are
09. Movin’ Out (Anthony’s Song)
10. Only The Good Die Young
11. She’s Always A Woman

Disc 2 – Volume II: 1978-1985
01. My Life
02. Big Shot
03. Honesty
04. You May Be Right
05. It’s Still Rock And Roll To Me
06. Don’t Ask Me Why
07. She’s Got A Way
08. Pressure
09. Allentown
10. Goodnight Saigon
11. Tell Her About It
12. Uptown Girl
13. The Longest Time
14. You’re Only Human (Second Wind)
15. The Night Is Still Young

Mastered by Shawn R. Britton, Assisted by Rob LoVerde at Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab, Sebastopol, CA.



%d bloggers like this: