Big Star – #1 Record + Radio City (1972+1974 / 2 albums on 1 Disc) [1992, Reissue 2004] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Big Star – #1 Record + Radio City (1972+1974 / 2 albums on 1 Disc) [1992, Reissue 2004]
PS3 Rip | ISO | DST64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 73:16 minutes | Scans included | 1,49 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,62 GB

The quintessential American power pop band, Big Star remains one of the most mythic and influential cult acts in all of rock & roll. Originally led by the singing and songwriting duo of Alex Chilton and Chris Bell, the Memphis-based group fused the strongest elements of the British Invasion era — the melodic invention of the Beatles, the whiplash guitars of the Who, and the radiant harmonies of the Byrds — into a ramshackle but poignantly beautiful sound which recaptured the spirit of pop’s past even as it pointed the way toward the music’s future. Although creative tensions, haphazard distribution, and marketplace indifference conspired to ensure Big Star’s brief existence and commercial failure, the group’s three studio albums nevertheless remain unqualified classics, and their impact on subsequent generations of indie bands on both sides of the Atlantic is surpassed only by that of the Velvet Underground.

A two-fer combining Big Star’s first and second albums, #1 Record/Radio City remains a definitive document of early-’70s American power pop and a virtual blueprint for much of the finest alternative rock that came after it. The lone Big Star record to merit the full participation of founder Chris Bell, the brightly produced #1 Record splits the songwriting credits evenly between him and Alex Chilton (in the tradition of Lennon-McCartney). But from the beginning, the group is tearing apart at the seams: Bell and Chilton’s relationship seems less a working partnership than a battle of wills, and each possesses his own distinctive vision. The purist, Bell crafts electrifying and melodic classic pop like “Feel” and “In the Street,” while Chilton, the malcontent, pens luminous, melancholy ballads like “The Ballad of El Goodo” and “Thirteen.” Ultimately, their tension makes #1 Record brilliant. However, Radio City shifts gears dramatically: Bell is largely absent (though he guests, uncredited, on a few tracks, including the wonderful “Back of a Car”), allowing Chilton’s darker impulses free reign. From the raucous opener “O My Soul” onward, the new Big Star is noisier, edgier, and even more potent. Erratic mixing, spotty production, shaky performances — by all rights, Radio City should be a failure, yet Chilton is at his best when poised on the brink of disaster, and the songs hang together seemingly on faith and conviction alone. Each track recalls pop’s glory days, from the Kinks-ish snarl of “Mod Lang” to the Byrds-like guitar glow that adorns “Way Out West.” The much-celebrated “September Gurls” is indeed a classic — everything right and good about pop music distilled down to three minutes of pure genius.


01. Feel
02. The Ballad of El Goodo
03. In the Street
04. Thirteen
05. Don’t Lie to Me
06. The India Song
07. When My Baby’s Beside Me
08. My Life Is Right
09. Give Me Another Chance
10. Try Again
11. Watch the Sunrise
12. ST 100/6
13. O My Soul
14. Life Is White
15. Way out West
16. What’s Going Ahn
17. You Get What You Deserve
18. Mod Lang
19. Back of Car
20. Daisy Glaze
21. She’s a Mover
22. September Gurls
23. Morpha Too
24. I’m in Love with a Girl

Tracks 01-12 is “#1 Record” Album (1972).
Tracks 13-24 is “Radio City” Album (1974).

Mastered by George Horn at Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, CA.



%d bloggers like this: