The Byrds – The Byrds’ Greatest Hits (1967) [Reissue 1999] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

The Byrds – The Byrds’ Greatest Hits (1967) [Reissue 1999]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 43:03 minutes | Scans included | 1,61 GB
or FLAC (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Full Scans included | 912 MB

Without question, the Byrds were one of the great bands of the ’60s and one of the few American bands of their time to continually turn out inventive, compelling albums. As they were recording a series of fine records, they turned out a number of classic singles that unquestionably defined their era. The Byrds’ Greatest Hits does an excellent job of chronicling the peak years of their popularity before they went country-rock on 1968’s Sweetheart of the Rodeo. Apart from the minor hits “It Won’t Be Wrong,” “Set You Free This Time,” and “Have You Seen Her Face,” all of the group’s hit singles – from 1965’s “Mr. Tambourine Man” to 1967’s “My Back Pages” – are included: “All I Really Want to Do,” “Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is a Season),” “Eight Miles High,” “5D (Fifth Dimension),” “Mr. Spaceman,” and “So You Want to Be a Rock N’ Roll Star.” Yes, some great songs were left behind on the albums, but important cuts like “I’ll Feel a Whole Lot Better,” “The Bells of Rhymney,” and “Chimes of Freedom” are added, making this pretty close to a definitive single-disc summary of the Byrds’ prime.


01 – Mr. Tambourine Man
02 – I’ll Feel a Whole Lot Better
03 – The Bells of Rhymney
04 – Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is a Season)
05 – All I Really Want to Do
06 – Chimes of Freedom
07 – Eight Miles High
08 – Mr. Spaceman
09 – 5D (Fifth Dimension)
10 – So You Want to Be a Rock & Roll Star
11 – My Back Pages
12 – It Won’t Be Wrong [Bonus Track]
13 – Set You Free This Time [Bonus Track]
14 – Have You Seen Her Face [Bonus Track]

Jim McGuinn – guitar, vocals
Gene Clark – tambourine, vocals
David Crosby – guitar, vocals
Chris Hillman – electric bass, vocals
Michael Clarke – drums

Original Recordings Produced by Terry Melcher, Allen Stanton & Gary Usher.
Engineered for SACD Reissue by Vic Anesini at Sony Music Studios, New York.



%d bloggers like this: