Yo-Yo Ma – Obrigado Brazil (2003) MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Yo-Yo Ma – Obrigado Brazil (2003)
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 71:46 minutes | Scans included (PDF) | 4,04 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/48 kHz | Scans included (PDF) | 790 MB
Features Stereo and Multichannel Surround Sound

Yo-Yo Ma, one of the best-known classical cellists of the recording era, whose crossover releases have spanned the world, bluegrass, and soundtrack charts. In this context “obrigado” means “thank you” in Portuguese.

As a cultural ambassador to the world, Yo-Yo Ma has immersed himself in the native music of many countries and taken away charming souvenirs of his musical explorations that he shares openly and without affectation. The chief characteristic of Ma’s approach is his showcasing of other talents, with a modesty and generosity on his part that makes these performances all the more appealing. In Obrigado Brazil, Ma shares the spotlight with musicians of the highest caliber, including bossa nova singer Rosa Passos, guitar duo Sergio and Odair Assad, clarinetist Paquito d’Rivera, pianist Kathryn Stott, and percussionist Cyro Baptista, among many other stars. All the performers display deep feeling, energy, and conviviality, no doubt inspired by Ma’s infectious goodwill and openhearted playing. Whether he engages the listener with popular numbers, such as the songs of Antonio Carlos Jobim and Pixinguinha, or with more classically tailored pieces by Heitor Villa-Lobos, Camargo Guarneri, and Egberto Gismonti, Ma offers a broad sampling of Brazil’s diverse musical styles. From sorrowful choros to lively sambas, the spectrum of the country’s music is well represented, and there is something here to please any armchair traveler. Sony’s recording is excellent, with special attention directed to capturing instrumental color.


01. Cristal (Written by Cesar Camargo Mariano)
02. Chega De Saudade (Written by Antonio Carlos Jobim)
03. A Lenda Do Caboclo (Written by Heitor Villa-Lobos)
04. Doce De Coco (Written by Jaco Do Bandolim)
05. Dansa Brasileira (Written by Camargo Mazart Guarnieri)
06. Apelo (Written by Baden Powell)
07. Dansa Negra (Written by Camargo Mazart Guarnieri)
08. I X O ‘Um A Zero’ (Written by Pixinguinha)
09. Menino (Written by Sergio Assad)
10. Samambaia (Written by Cesar Camargo Mariano)
11. Carinhoso (Written by Pixinguinha)
12. Alma Brasileira (Written by Heitor Villa-Lobos)
13. O Amor Em Paz (Unknown)
14. Bodas De Prata & Quatro Cantos (Written by Egberto Gismonti & G.E. Carneiro)
15. Brasileirinho (Written by Waldir Azevedo)
16. Salador (Written by Egberto Gismonti) [Bonus Track]

Yo-Yo Ma – Cello
Helio Alves – Piano
Odair Assad – Guitar
Sergio Assad – Guitar, Arranger
Cyro Baptista – Percussion
Paulinho Braga – Drums
Jose DaSilva – Percussion
Jose DeFaria – Percussion
Paquito D’Rivera – Clarinet
Egberto Gismonti – Flute, Guitar, Piano, Arranger
Romero Lubambo – Guitar, Cavaquinho
Cesar Camargo Mariano – Piano
Nilson Matta – Bass
Rosa Passos – Guitar, Vocals
Kathryn Stott – Piano

Produced by Steven Epstein.







%d bloggers like this: