Yo-Yo Ma & Bobby McFerrin – Hush (1992) [Reissue 2015] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Yo-Yo Ma & Bobby McFerrin – Hush (1992) [Reissue 2015]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 46:33 minutes | Scans included | 1,87 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/44,1 kHz | Full Scans included | 428 MB

The idea here was to put two masters together–one classical cellist, one improvisational singer/sound-effects performer–and voilà! instant amazing, unique, hip–and, hopefully, hit–record. The intriguing setup was to see what would happen when each led the other through the unfamiliar territory of his own specialty. The success of this recording lies not so much in the music or even in the overall performances, but in the fascinating and fun opportunity to sit in on the musicians’ good-natured, respectful give-and-take, to witness an uncommon form of artistic chemistry that allows each performer to expand his vision and even his technique. On one hand we get Bobby McFerrin’s impressionistic, improvisatory jazz/pop; on the other we enjoy Yo-Yo Ma’s highly refined, formalized musicianship.

A surprisingly good collaboration from two virtuosos of their given instruments. Bobby McFerrin, the master of the voice, and Yo-yo Ma, the master of the cello, combined to perform various pieces, from classical, traditional, and contemporary classical sectors. Some of the McFerrin compositions are quite amazing simply as compositions to begin with, but when the cello and vocal performances are added, they become something even more exciting. More than likely, the main highlight on the album is Rimsky-Korsakov’s “Flight of the Bumblebee,” which is performed on a dual line by both musicians and allows an ample chance to note the amazing virtuosity of McFerrin, once you can distinguish the voice from the cello (yes, they follow the lines that close). For any fan of either musician, it’s a wonderful find of an album.


01. Grace
02. Andante from Concerto in D Minor for 2 Mandolins
03. Flight of The Bumblebee From The Legend of Tsar Saltan (Excerpt) (P.76)
04. Stars
05. Hush Little Baby
06. Vocalise
07. Musette from the Notebook for Anna Magdalena Bach (Vocal)
08. Coyote
09. Allegro prestissimo from Sonata for Two Cellos
10. Ave Maria
11. Hoedown!
12. Air From Orchestral Suite No. 3
13. Good-bye

Produced by Steven Epstein & Bobby McFerrin. Recording & Mixing Engineer: Chris Tergesen.
Recorded at Dreamland Recording Studios. Woodstock, New York, August 22-25.1991.
For this recording 20-bit technology was used for “high definition sound”.







%d bloggers like this: