Sarah Moule – Something’s Gotta Give (2004) MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Sarah Moule – Something’s Gotta Give (2004)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 49:39 minutes | Scans included | 2,86 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo( converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/44,1 kHz | Scans included | 568 MB
Features Stereo and Multichannel Surround Sound | Linn Records # AKD 239 | Genre: Jazz

Sarah Moule follows up her successful debut album It’s a Nice Thought with another collaborative disc featuring the music of Johnny Mercer and Fran Landesman / Simon Wallace. In the past few years singer Sarah Moule has established a rapidly growing reputation as one of Britain’s most exciting new jazz talents. Something’s Gotta Give marries a collection of new Landesman/Wallace material with classic songs by one of the greatest of the American Songbook lyricists, Johnny Mercer. Mercer and Landesman first met in the late 1950s when Landesman and composer TommyWolf were enjoying great success with songs such as ‘Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most’ and ‘The Ballad Of The Sad Young Men’. Mercer was a great admirer of Landesman’s work while she in turn had grown up listening to his songs and absorbing his techniques of incorporating everyday colloquial phrases into song lyrics.

Sarah Moule has surrounded herself with very classy British jazz musicians, with guitarist Jim Mullen making a reappearance, and bop trumpeters Mark Armstrong and Steve Fishwick joining the imaginative tenor saxist Pete Wareham over the immaculate drumming of Paul Robinson. There are therefore plenty of solos to reflect the jazz muse that fuels Landesman, and Moule’s crystal-clear tones and subtle pacing balance the improv input by taking typically intelligent care of the lyrics. She sounds more like a stage singer in a jazz band than a jazz instrumentalist who happens to sing, as labelmate Claire Martin does, and her remarkable empathy with Fran Landesman’s songs (a double-act with pianist Simon Wallace) is still the strongest feature of this pretty traditional and straight-swinging set. Down, and Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most, two of Moule’s most penetrating Landesman interpretations in live performance, are highlights.


01. Something’s Gotta Give
02. How Was It For You?
03. I’m Old Fashioned
04. Save the Photographs
05. That Old Black Magic
06. What Love Knows
07. Jeepers Creepers
08. Days of Wine and Roses
09. Come Rain or Come Shine
10. Down
11. You’re So Now
12. Trav’lin’ Light
13. High Noon
14. Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most

Sarah Moule – vocals
Pete Wareham – tenor & baritone saxes
Mark Armstrong – trumpet
Steve Fishwick – trumpet
Jim Mullen – guitar
Simon Wallace – piano, Hammond organ
Mick Hutton – bass
Gary Hammond – percussion
Paul Robinson – drums
Steve Rushton – tambourine on “13”

Produced & Arranged by Simon Wallace.
Recorded by Dick Hammet at Red Gables Studio, Andy Lynwood at Winterbrook Studio, Alex Balzama & Dominique Brethes at Wolf Stuidos, UK. Mixed by Gerry O’Riordan at Spatial Sound, UK.
Mastered by Ben Turner at Finesplice, UK.



%d bloggers like this: