Nicki Parrott – Unforgettable: The Nat King Cole Songbook (2017) [Japan] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Nicki Parrott – Unforgettable: The Nat King Cole Songbook (2017) [Japan]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 51:38 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,1 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 0,99 GB

Nicki Parrott plays bass and sings Nat King Cole’s songbook with the help of fellow jazzmates John Di Martino on piano, Frank Vignola on guitar and Lisa Parrott on saxophone and clarinet. “Nicki brings clear articulation, beautiful tone, a sense of rhythmic assuredness and a touch of allure to inventive arrangements.” ~ Jazz Times

Born in Newcastle, Australia, Nicki started her musical training at age four with the piano, followed by the flute, soon after. Nicki switched to double bass at the age of 15. After graduating high school she moved to Sydney to study jazz at the New South Wales Conservatorium of Music where she began to play with Australian musicians such as Mike Nock, Dale Barlow, Paul Grabowsky, Bernie McGann, and Ten Part Invention. She also toured Australia with Russian musicians Daniel Kramer and Alexander Fischer and American trumpeters Bobby Shew and Chuck Findley. She continued her studies with various bassists including visiting artists Ray Brown and John Clayton. In June 2000, Nicki began performing on Monday nights at the Iridium Jazz Club with the legendary guitarist and inventor, Les Paul. As part of the Les Paul Trio, Nicki worked side-by-side with guitar greats from Paul McCartney, Slash, Steve Miller to fellow Aussie, Tommy Emmanuel. Since then she has performed with such notable musicians as Michel Legrand, Joe Wilder, Randy Brecker, Clark Terry, Jose Feliciano, Bucky Pizzarelli, John Pizzarelli, Dick Hyman, Patti Labelle & the New York Pops Orchestra, Harry Allen, Marlena Shaw, David Krakauer, Ken Peplowski, Ann Hampton Callaway, Bill Mays, Scott Hamilton, Lillian Boutte, Larry Carlton and Houston Person, just to name a few.


01. Walkin’ My Baby Back Home
02. Let’s Fall In Love
03. The Very Thought Of You
04. Hit That Jive Jack
05. Mona Lisa
06. Meet Me At No Special Place
07. A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square
08. Unforgettable
09. Straighten Up And Fly Right
10. For Sentimental Reasons
11. When I Fall In Love
12. L-O-V-E
13. Answer Me My Love
14. Perfidia

Nicki Parrott – vocals, bass
John Di Martino – piano
Frank Vignola – guitar
Lisa Parrott – bariton sax, bass clarinet

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by Chris Sulit.
Recorded on February 23, 24 & 25, 2016 at Trading 8’s Studio in New York.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-206.



%d bloggers like this: