New York Trio – Begin The Beguine (2006) [Japan 2015] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

New York Trio – Begin The Beguine (2006) [Japan 2015]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 57:54 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,33 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,17 GB

For their fifth album on Venus Records, Bill Charlap and his New York Trio took on another songbook. This time it was Cole Porter’s. Begin the Beguine is part of Charlap’s songbook series. Previous entries include that of Leonard Bernstein, George Gershwin, and Duke Ellington. When you mix the divine melodies and romantic nature of Cole Porter with this great piano trio that has played together for five years…well, the results are extraordinary. The album begins with the lively “You’d Be So Nice To Come Home To”, then goes through the lovely “So In Love”, the surprisingly unhurried “Begin the Beguine”, and ends with the heart-rending “Every Time We Say Goodbye”.

The New York Trio consists of pianist Bill Charlap, bassist Jay Leonhart, and drummer Bill Stewart, though it exists solely as a studio band for the Japanese label Venus, as Charlap’s regular trio includes Peter Washington and Kenny Washington. Even though this band only meets occasionally in the studio to record yet another release in their prolific series for the Japanese jazz market, there is plenty of chemistry between the three veterans, while the nine songs from the vast Cole Porter songbook were likely to have been a part of each musician’s repertoire long before these 2005 sessions. Charlap’s lyrical piano style is quite effective, capturing the nuances of Porter’s humor (even though none of his lyrics are heard), while the rhythm section gels nicely with the pianist. Highlights include a jaunty “My Heart Belongs to Daddy,” a dreamy “Begin the Beguine,” and a snappy “From This Moment On.”


01. You’d Be So Nice To Come Home To
02. My Heart Belongs To Daddy
03. So In Love
04. Begin The Beguine
05. I Love Paris
06. From This Moment On
07. Just One Of Those Things
08. Easy To Love
09. Every Time We Say Goodbye

Bill Charlap – piano
Jay Leonhart – bass
Bill Stewart – drums

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by Katherine Miller.
Recorded at The Studio in New York on August 23 and 24, 2005.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-72.



%d bloggers like this: