New York Trio – Always (2008) [Japan 2016] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

New York Trio – Always (2008) [Japan 2016]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 48:59 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,0 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,01 GB

The New York Trio, consisting of pianist Bill Charlap, bassist Jay Leonhart, and drummer Bill Stewart, have put together a spectacular jazz lineup for this audiophile SACD. Also known as the New York Jazz Trio, the group is known for recording classic standards in a straightforward, post-bop style. Together, they are a successful force, having marked their spot in East Coast jazz scene. But separately, they have also each reached their individual levels of success. In his career, pianist Bill Charlap has played alongside jazz icons Tony Bennett, Benny Carter, and Gerry Mulligan, and has recorded a handful of well-received albums as a bandleader. Jay Leonhart, a bassist for the Trio, has also dabbled in vocals and songwriting and has performed with Marian McPartland, Louie Bellson, Lee Konitz, and many others. And drummer Bill Stewart has rubbed musical elbows on stage with jazz guitarist John Scofield, sax player Maceo Parker and R&B legend James Brown.

The New York Trio, led by pianist Bill Charlap with bassist Jay Leonhart and drummer Bill Stewart, exists exclusively as a band to record for the Japanese jazz market, as Charlap has a regular trio with Peter Washington and Kenny Washington, while both Leonhart and Stewart are busy session musicians who occasionally also lead their own record dates. These 2007 sessions focus exclusively on the extensive songbook of the prolific Irving Berlin. Most of the ten tunes heard on this CD have long since become standards and are frequently recorded by jazz artists. One that isn’t typically heard as an instrumental is “I Got the Sun in the Morning” (from the musical Annie Get Your Gun), heard in a loping yet infectious interpretation. “How Deep Is the Ocean” is one of Berlin’s most recorded songs, yet this version sizzles with energy, unlike the typical ballad treatments. Other highlights include the breezy, joyful setting of “Cheek to Cheek,” with Stewart’s whispering brushes propelling Charlap’s buoyant piano, along with the bittersweet “What’ll I Do,” featuring Leonhart’s intimate solo. Even though this isn’t a working band, things seem to gel quickly for the New York Trio when the group assembles to record.


01. Always
02. Cheek To Cheek
03. They Say It’s Wonderful
04. I Got The Sun In The Morning
05. How Deep Is The Ocean
06. Change Partners
07. What’ll I Do
08. Isn’t This A Lovely Day?
09. The Song Is Ended
10. Russian Lullaby

Bill Charlap – piano
Jay Leonhart – bass
Bill Stewart – drums

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by Katherine Miller.
Recorded on May 30 & 31, 2007 at Clinton Studio in New York.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-153.



%d bloggers like this: