Michel Petrucciani Trio – Estate (1982) [Reissue 2005] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Michel Petrucciani Trio – Estate (1982) [Reissue 2005]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 33:51 minutes | Scans included | 2,01 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Full Scans included | 771 MB
Features Stereo and Multichannel Surround Sound

Michel Petrucciani, although small in stature, was a giant in the jazz world. Stylistically, Petrucciani is most frequently compared to Bill Evans and Keith Jarrett for his lyricism and Oscar Peterson for his virtuosity. His playing was often quite dramatic; critics accuse him of over-indulgence and cheap showmanship, sometimes dismissing his music as being too accessible. The French born musician first recorded in 1980. This album is from early in his career (1982) and remains a musical insight into his early offerings before his career blossomed with multiple releases on Blue Note.

Michel Petrucciani was not quite 20 years old at the time of this trio session with drummer Aldo Romano and bassist Furio Di Castri, but he was already displaying incredible potential as a pianist. Petrucciani’s risk-taking interpretation of Bill Evans’ turbulent “Very Early” is the highlight of this release, closely followed by his own bittersweet ballad, “I Just Say Hello”. Romano’s rapid fire “Samba Des Prophetes” is superior to his rather bland and predictable “Pasolini”. Michel Petrucciani made a number of dates for Owl and The George Wein Collection around the same time period as these recordings which are superior to this album, yet none of them have remained in print. Even though this can’t be considered an essential release for Michel Petrucciani fans (especially with its brief playing time of under 34 minutes), it is an enjoyable session.


01. Pasolini
02. Very Early
03. Estate
04. Maybe Yes
05. I Just Say Hello
06. Tone Poem
07. Samba Des Prophètes

Michel Petrucciani – piano
Furio Di Castri – bass
Aldo Romano – drums

Recorded & Mixed on March 29-30, April 16 & May 5, 1982 at Forum Rec. Studio, Rome, Italy.
5.1 Remix & DSD Mastering from original analog tapes by M. Costa & M. Lincetto.







%d bloggers like this: