Laura Nyro – Eli and The Thirteenth Confession (1968) [Audio Fidelity 2016] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Laura Nyro – Eli and The Thirteenth Confession (1968) [Audio Fidelity 2016]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 4.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 46:19 minutes | Full Scans included | 2,1 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | 46:48 mins | Scans | 909 MB
Features Stereo and Quadrophonic surround sound | Mastered by Steve Hoffman | Audio Fidelity # AFZ5 237

Nyro peaked early, and Eli and the Thirteenth Confession, just her second album, remains her best. It’s not only because it contains the original versions of no less than three songs that were big hits for other artists: “Sweet Blindness” (covered by the 5th Dimension), “Stoned Soul Picnic” (also covered by the 5th Dimension), and “Eli’s Comin'” (done by Three Dog Night). It’s not even just because those three songs are so outstanding. It’s because the album as a whole is so outstanding, with its invigorating blend of blue-eyed soul, New York pop, and early confessional singer/songwriting. Nyro sang of love, inscrutably enigmatic romantic daredevils, getting drunk, lonely women, and sensual desire with an infectious joie de vivre. The arrangements superbly complemented the material with lively brass, wailing counterpoint backup vocals, and Nyro’s own ebullient piano.


01. Luckie
02. Lu
03. Sweet Blindness
04. Poverty Train
05. Lonely Women
06. Eli’s Comin’
07. Timer
08. Stoned Soul Picnic
09. Emmie
10. Woman’s Blues
11. Once It Was Alright Now (Farmer Joe)
12. December’s Boudior
13. The Confession

Mastered by Steve Hoffman & Steven Marsh at Marsh Mastering.



%d bloggers like this: