Laura Nyro – Angel In The Dark (2001) [Reissue 2002] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Laura Nyro – Angel In The Dark (2001) [Reissue 2002]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 65:47 minutes | Artwork included | 2,67 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Artwork included | 1,21 GB

An influential New York City-based singer-songwriter, with a powerful, soulful voice who bridged the gaps bewteen folk, pop, and soul.

Angel in the Dark is a lovely recording featuring the graceful vocals and finely crafted songs that everyone expects from Laura Nyro. These sessions were completed in the summer of 1995 and represent the last music Nyro recorded. The title cut and “Sweet Dream Fade” mine the same soul terrain as her late ’60s recordings, featuring horns and underlined by heavy guitar riffs. These upbeat pieces perfectly integrate voice, arrangements, and lyrics to create an organic whole, and are two of the best cuts on the album. Slower, piano-based songs like “Triple Goddess Twilight,” “He Was Too Good to Me,” and “Serious Playground” are mixed in-between these songs. These pieces are quieter and introspective, with Nyro’s voice more intimate. It is almost as though she was sitting at the piano, late at night, and singing to herself. There are also several covers including “Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow” and “Let It Be Me.” The first of these is over five minutes and has been slowed down so much that it drags. In fact, she slows down all of the covers as if to convert them into heartfelt ballads. This works best on “Ooh Baby, Baby,” partly because the arrangement is fuller and more dynamic. One other standout is the upbeat “Gardenia Talk,” filled with lively percussion and a sensual vocal. Angel in the Dark is a fine coda, perfect for late-night listening, and a perfect companion to Nyro’s other recordings.


01. Angel in the Dark
02. Triple Goddess Twilight
03. Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow
04. He Was Too Good To Me
05. Sweet Dream Fade
06. Serious Playground
07. Be Aware
08. Let It Be Me
09. Gardenia Talk
10. Ooh Baby Baby
11. Embraceable You
12. La La Means I Love You
13. Walk On By
14. Animal Grace
15. Don’t Hurt Child
16. Angel in the Dark (alternate version)*
17. Ooh Baby Baby (alternate version)*
18. Don’t Hurt Child (alternate version)*
19. Coda

* – exclusive bonus tracks for SACD version.



%d bloggers like this: