John Di Martino’s Romantic Jazz Trio – Jazz Mozart (2007) [Japan 2017] SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

John Di Martino’s Romantic Jazz Trio – Jazz Mozart (2007) [Japan 2017]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 53:22 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 1,55 GB
or DSD64 2.0 (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,4 GB
or FLAC (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/48 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 637 MB

Multiple Grammy nominee John Di Martino–composer, arranger, pianist–has recorded many albums for Venus Records with his Romantic Jazz Trio. Noted for his versatility, John has performed and recorded with such notables as Kenny Burrell, James Moody, Joe Lovano, David “Fat Head” Newman, Pat Martino, Paquito D’Rivera and Houston Person. John has been described as a “shape-shifter”, for his creativity across musical genres. Here the trio devotes an entire album to jazzing up music by the classical composer W.A. Mozart.

The trio session on Jazz Mozart features pianist John di Martino with double bassist Boris Kozlov and drummer Ernesto Simpson in a program of some of Mozart’s more romantic pieces. The waltzes, in particular, carry a rewarding texture that allows for natural jazz interpretation. “The Fire of Passion , for example, from the “Piano Concerto No. 24 in C minor , briskly ebbs and flows like the motion of our lungs, as we inhale the music’s secret. “Fantasy in D minor moves with a deliberate air that calls out tension and release in a passionate state. The trio interprets “Lacrymosa (Requiem, K696) in a dark murmur that allows plenty of room for pensive thinking. Tender ballads such as “My Heart Needs to Know and “Arc of Love produce impressive results. diMartino has added one original piece, “Desert Journey , which contains an exotic charm of its own. Mozart created these works of art over 200 years ago and now di Martino redefines them as jazz masterpieces.


01. The Fire of Passion ~ Piano Concerto #24 in C minor K491
02. Soft , Like The Petals Of A Rose ~ Piano Concerto #21 in C major K467
03. Desert Journey ~ Homage A Mozart (written by ohn Di Martino)
04. I’ve Lost Her ~ The Marriage Of Figaro K492
05. Fantasy in D minor K397
06. My Heart Needs To Know ~ Piano Concerto #27 in B flat major K595
07. Lacrymosa ~ Requiem K696
08. The Willows Song ~ Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra in A major K622
09. Dance Of The Wind ~ Symphony #40 in G minor K550
10. Arc Of Love ~ Piano Concerto #23 in A major K488

John Di Martino – piano
Boris Kozlov – bass
Ernesto Simpson – drums

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara.
Recorded on March 27-28, 2006 at The Studio in New York.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-240.




%d bloggers like this: