Godsmack – The Other Side (2004) MCH SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Godsmack – The Other Side (2004)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 & DST64 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 29:47 minutes | Scans included | 2,34 GB
or DSD64 2.0 Stereo (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Full Scans included | 793 MB
or FLAC Stereo (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Full Scans included | 737 MB

The Other Side is an acoustic EP by the American rock band Godsmack. It includes several previously released songs re-recorded as acoustic versions, as well as three new acoustic tracks. The Other Side was recorded in a Hawaiian studio with producer David Bottrill, who worked with the band early. This album has been certified Gold by the RIAA.

The Other Side is Godsmack’s first acoustic offering. Totaling seven songs, it’s not quite a full album. But fans will note its mixture old and new material, as well as the departure from Sully Erna and co.’s normal metallurgical sonic signature. The primary influence here is Alice in Chains. New track “Running Blind” is dominated by the high-low harmony sound that’s become Alice in Chains’ legacy, as is “Re-Align,” which otherwise doesn’t drift very far from Faceless’ electrified version. The guitars – and guitar solos – are acoustic throughout Other Side, and the percussion is lighter and more refined than the normal ‘Smack pummel. As for the rest of the new material, “Voices” suggests the more subdued work of the band’s peers (Seether, Staind, etc.), while “Touché” crosses threads of the Allman Brothers with the usual post-grunge throttle. It’s also a little free advertising for Erna’s vanity imprint and its new signing, Dropbox, whose Lee Richards and John Kosco guest. In a way, The Other Side feels like a vanity project for Godsmack itself, the sort of thing a band releases in between official studio records, or just because it can. But that doesn’t mean it’s a bad trip for fans, who will no doubt get a kick out of this more jangly side of a band that’s made a tidy career out of going for the jugular.


01. Running Blind
02. Re-Align
03. Touche
04. Voices
05. Keep Away
06. Spiral
07. Asleep

Sully Erna – vocals, guitar
Tony Rombola – guitar, backing vocal
Robbie Merrill – bass
Shannon Larkin – drums, percussion










%d bloggers like this: