Horace Parlan – Movin’ & Groovin’ (1960/2010) DSF DSD64

Horace Parlan – Movin’ & Groovin’ (1960/2010)
DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz  | Time – 00:43:02 minutes | 1,7 GB | Genre: Jazz
Source: ISO SACD | ©  Blue Note Records

This 1960 trio date was pianist Parlan’s first of many great releases for Blue Note. The Pittsburgh native, who overcame polio as a child that left his right hand crippled, had gained some serious props with his contributions on two of Charles Mingus’ best albums the year prior (Mingus Ah Um, Blues And Roots), and was now ready to step out on his own. Choosing to tackle mostly standards, Parlan channels his idol Bud Powell’s classic trio dates with the able assistance of Blue Note regulars Sam Jones, bass and drummer Al Harewood. The result is an eclectic mix, interpreting the works of Tadd Dameron, Duke Ellington, Milt Jackson and Burke-Van Heussen plus a Parlan original, “Up In Cynthia’s Room,” which became one of his signature pieces.

Horace Parlan’s debut album for Blue Note, Movin’ and Groovin’, is a thoroughly impressive affair, establishing Parlan as a distinctive hard bop stylist. Working with bassist Sam Jones and drummer Al Harewood, Parlan steals the show, playing hard-driving, bluesy bop and lyrical ballads. If it weren’t for the inventive chord voicings and percussive right-hand attack, it would be impossible to tell that he was missing two fingers on his right hand, since his playing is remarkably agile and fluid. Parlan sounds vital on swinging blues, slow ballads, and straight-ahead bop, and Jones and Harewood provide appropriately empathetic support on this collection of standards, blues, bop, jazz, and originals. Everything swings, no matter the tempo, and the end result is a fine debut from a distinctive pianist. –Stephen Thomas Erlewine


1 C Jam Blues 5:08
2 On Green Dolphin Street 5:24
3 Up In Cynthia’s Room 5:21
4 Lady Bird 4:57
5 Bag’s Groove 5:43
6 Stella By Starlight 5:59
7 There Is No Greater Love 6:40
8 It Could Happen To You 3:18

Horace Parlan, piano
Al Harewood, drums
Sam Jones, bass

Recorded: February 29, 1960 at Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey




%d bloggers like this: