Zachary Carrettin & Mina Gajic – Boundless: Schubert Sonatinas (2020) DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Zachary Carrettin & Mina Gajic – Boundless: Schubert Sonatinas (2020)
DSD64 2.0 | 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Time: 00:56:18 | ~ 2.29 GB
or 24-bit/96 kHz | Flac(Tracks) | ~ 893 Mb
Classical | Sono Luminus | Official Digital Download

Boundless is a new album performed by Mina Gajic (piano) and Zachary Carrettin (violin). It features Schubert Sonatinas recorded in DXD at a Recital Hall at a Private Wildlife Sanctuary in Boulder, Colorado on July 29-31, 2019. The album was produced by Erica Brenner and engineered by Daniel Shores using the Horus Analog to Digital Converter from Merging Technologies.

In recording these compositions, the earliest revelations of Schubert’s boundless lyricism in his early romantic compositional voice as applied to instrumental chamber music, we sought to pay homage to the original intent as well as the authentic sounds. The Sonatinas, (a posthumous title), were written for music of the chamber, a time of gathering, sharing, and delighting in the discoveries, creations, and talents of others.

The Sonatinas are a revealing view into the birth of Schubert’s romantic voice. Whether the sturm und drang of the G Minor and its Haydn-esque representation of drama, the early Beethovenian poise, manner, and delight in the D Major, or the unabashed dramatic and unapologetic severity in the A Minor, (Lord Byrons Manfred was written the same year!), these works show us young Schubert’s boundless expressive spirit.

The violin is a rare find, built by Franz Kinberg after the Second World War and set up for late Classical and early Romantic historical instrument performance. The gut-strung violin is paired with an extraordinary bow made by John Dodd, London, circa 1800. This pre-modern, transitional bow is a perfect example of the bows still in favor in Vienna at the time the Sonatinas were composed.

The piano is an Érard concert grand, built in Paris circa 1835. It is in immaculate condition, superbly conditioned by Frits Janmaat at Maison Érard in Amsterdam. Parallel-strung, and with dampers beneath the strings, the registers have clear distinction; the action is agile; the rich tonal depth is special.


Violin Sonata No. 1 in D Major, Op. 137 No. 1, D. 384
01. I. Allegro molto
02. II. Andante
03. III. Allegro vivace

Violin Sonata No. 2 in A Minor, Op. 137 No. 2, D. 385
04. I. Allegro moderato
05. II. Andante
06. III. Menuetto. Allegro
07. IV. Allegro

Violin Sonata No. 3 in G Minor, Op. 137 No. 3, D. 408
08. I. Allegro giusto
09. II. Andante
10. III. Menuetto
11. IV. Allegro moderato

Zachary Carretin, violin
Mina Gajic, piano



%d bloggers like this: