Ella Fitzgerald, Louis Armstrong – Ella and Louis (1956/2010) SACD ISO

Ella Fitzgerald, Louis Armstrong – Ella and Louis (1956/2010)
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 00:53:53 | 2.18 GB
Genre: Vocal Jazz | Publisher (label): Verve / Universal Music Japan – Universal UCGU-9004

Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong make for a charming team on this album. Accompanied by pianist Oscar Peterson, guitarist Herb Ellis, bassist Ray Brown, and drummer Buddy Rich, Fitzgerald and Armstrong perform 11 standards with joy and swing. There are touches of Satch’s trumpet, but this is primarily a vocal set with the emphasis on tasteful renditions of ballads. Its follow-up, Ella & Louis Again, is also worth getting.


01. Can’t We Be Friends? (3:46)
02. Isn’t This A Lovely Day? (6:14)
03. Moonlight In Vermont (3:40)
04. They Can’t Take That Away From Me (4:38)
05. Under A Blanket Of Blue (4:17)
06. Tenderly (5:07)
07. A Foggy Day (4:32)
08. Stars Fell On Alabama (3:33)
09. Cheek To Cheek (5:53)
10. The Nearness Of You (5:41)
11. April In Paris (6:33)

Louis Armstrong, trumpet, vocals
Ella Fitzgerald, vocals
Oscar Peterson Quartet
Ray Brown, bass
Buddy Rich, drums
Herb Ellis, guitar
Oscar Peterson, piano

Recorded at the Capitol Tower, Hollywood
Producer: Norman Granz



%d bloggers like this: