Bob Barnard & The Swedish Jazz Kings – A Tribute To Young Louis (2002) MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Bob Barnard & The Swedish Jazz Kings – A Tribute To Young Louis (2002)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 4.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 60:52 minutes | Scans included | 4,27 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,32 GB

The Swedish Jazz Kings third Opus 3 release is a swinging tribute to Louis Armstrong. Concentrating on a period when Louis was revolutionizing the shape of jazz music, this album contains many tunes from Armstrong’s early repertoire. The sound, as captured by the talented Opus 3 engineers, is even more stunning on SACD. Highly Recommended.

Opus 3 presents The Swedish Jazz Kings’ 3rd album for the label. This time around The Kings are joined by 1 of the world’s foremost interpreters of Louis Armstrong’s music – Australia’s jazz star & cornet player, Bob Barnard. The majority of tracks feature yet another jazz giant, English trombone player Roy Williams. There is surely no band more qualified than The Swedish Jazz Kings to do just this, they have after all, devoted a large portion of their musical lives to the preservation & portrayal of Louis’ music! As the title suggests, the main emphasis on this album is on Louis Armstrong’s early music, the time at which many consider him to have been at his creative peak.


01. Oriental Strut
02. You’re Next
03. My Heart
04. Melancholy Blues
05. Ory’s Creole Trombone
06. Georgia Bo-Bo
07. The Last Time
08. Wild Man Blues
09. Everybody Loves My Baby
10. Two Deuces
11. Keyhole Blues
12. Sunset Café Stomp

This is Opus 3’s 12th SACD & 7th multichannel album & the 3rd pure DSD recording. Just like the previous album with Lars Erstrand, the surround effect on this album, i.e. the information in the rear speakers, is meant to enhance the ambience & atmosphere of the jazz club & make the listener feel that he is “there!” Just like all other Opus 3 multichannel albums, we do not use either the centre or the subwoofer channels. — Jan-Eric Persson, Opus 3



%d bloggers like this: