Barbara Carroll Trio – Sentimental Mood (2006) [Japan 2017] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Barbara Carroll Trio – Sentimental Mood (2006) [Japan 2017]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 71:18 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,88 GB
or FLAC (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/48 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 812 MB
Genre: Jazz

Barbara Carroll remains at the top of her game at age 80. This wonderful program of standards shows her at her swinging best. If her voice has lost a little of its bloom (she sings, or rather speaks, on a couple of numbers) her fingers certainly have not. Very few jazz pianists get a truly individual sound from the piano, but Carroll’s full, two handed style is unique, and has been for decades. An excellent rhythm section and the usual fine sound from Venus make this a winner. With Jay Leonhart playing bass and Joe Cocuzzo playing drums, the trio performs such classics as “Fly Me To The Moon”, “My Funny Valentine” and “Autumn In New York”.


01. Lady Be Good
02. Autumn In New York
03. You’d Be So Nice To Come Home To
04. Here’s That Rainy Day
05. Fly Me To The Moon
06. Last Night When We Were Young
07. On A Clear Day
08. My Funny Valentine
09. In A Sentimental Mood
10. Yesterdays
11. I Guess I’ll Have To Change My Plans
12. As Long As I Live

Barbara Carroll – piano & vocals on “1 & 5”
Jay Leonhart – bass
Joe Cocuzzo – drums

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by Katherine Miller.
Recorded on September 24-25, 2005 at The Studio in New York.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-203.



%d bloggers like this: