Barbara Carroll – I Wished On The Moon (2007) [Japan 2017] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Barbara Carroll – I Wished On The Moon (2007) [Japan 2017]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 60:58 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,48 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/48 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 718 MB
Genre: Jazz

Barbara Carroll is an elegant jazz pianist, composer and vocalist, long recognized as one of the premier players of swinging jazz piano and expressive vocals. Her inventive piano playing and totally unique vocal sound leads her into transforming any composition into her own art with her trade-mark emotional directness and respect for the tune, its lyrics and its many possibilities. According to Stephen Holder of the New York Times, “Ms. Carroll plays with an impeccable technique in which harmonies burst into flower. In recent decades she has embraced singing in a parlando style that is witty, literate, discreetly sexy and at times heartbreakingly honest”. All Music’s Eugene Chadbourne writes that Ms. Carroll “did not ignore the pop styles of subsequent decades, yet always managed to keep a strong jazz flavor present in whatever material she performed. If swing was a bay leaf, it would be said that Carroll had a large bush growing right outside her kitchen window. She recorded for many of the best labels in the genre including Verve and Atlantic and continued to be in demand at clubs and cabarets into her nineties, playing a regular gig at Manhattan’s Birdland venue until December 2016”.


01. But Beautiful
02. Gee Baby Ain’t I Good To You
03. Can’t We Be Friends
04. I’ve Got A Crush On You
05. How Am I To Know?
06. Prelude To A Kiss
07. Where Or When
08. I Wished On The Moon
09. You Are Not My First Love
10. You’d Be So Nice To Come Home To

Barbara Carroll – piano, vocals
Jay Leonhart – bass
Joe Coccuzzo – drums

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by Katherine Miller.
Recorded on March 29-30, 2006 at The Studio in New York.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-232.



%d bloggers like this: