Arne Domnerus, Leif Strands Kammarkor – Sorgen och Gladjen (1971/2016) DSF DSD128 + Hi-Res FLAC

Arne Domnerus, Leif Strands Kammarkor – Sorgen och Gladjen (1971/2016)
DSF Stereo DSD128, 1 bit/5,6 MHz | Time – 38:33 minutes | 3,44 GB | Genre: Classiacal, Jazz, Folk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: nativeDSDmusic | Booklet, Front Cover | © 2xHD / Proprius Musik AB

Is this the line between folk and spiritual song? Between hymn to Christ’s bride and the earthly love song? The border is not straight and clear, but on both sides lies a treasure of music and lyrics that we must have to stay alive – in our day and future , as an inheritance . . . Leif Strand and the musicians on this record, offer a kind of continuation of the sorrow and the joy.
Leif Strand Chamber Choir began in 1965; the first concert together with jazz musicians was held at Hönsten 1967 with, among others, Jan Johansson, Arne Domnérus, Rune Gustafsson, Georg Riedel. Since the choir – in connection with Arne Domnérus sextet – made a couple hundred concerts, numerous radio and television appearances and five published LPs.
On this album, the Leif Stand Choir from Sweden join with Jazz greats Georg Riedel, Arne Domnérus, Egil Johansen and Bengt Hallberg – best known for their work on the classic Jazz At The Pawnshop. Joy and Sorrow features the choir and musicians performing traditional, chorale and spiritual music.

For the 2xHD transfer of this recording, the original 1/4”, 15 ips CCIR master tape was played on a Nagra-T modified with high-end tube playback electronics, wired with OCC silver cable from the playback head direct to a Telefunken EF806 tube. The Nagra T has one of the best transports ever made, having four direct drive motors, two pinch rollers and a tape tension head. We did an analog transfer for each high-res sampling and A & B comparisons were made with the original LP, using the KRONOS turntable with a BLACK BEAUTY tone arm.


1. Sorgen Och Glädjen 5:05
2. Världens Frälsare, Kom Här 2:30
3. Lagd På Strå 1:35
4. Kommen I Herdar 2:25
5. Vallåtar Från Rättvik 2:55
6. Se, Vi Går Upp Till Jerusalem 2:40
7. Min Själ, Du Måste Glömma Nu 4:20
8. Krist Är Uppstånden 2:15
9. Dig Helge Ande Bedja Vi 5:15
10. Veni, Sancte Spiritus 3:50
11. Som Fågelen Vid Ljusan Dag 3:05
12. En Herrdag I Höjden 2:15
13. O, Hur Saligt Att Få Vandra 4:20

Alto Saxophone – Arne Domnérus
Bass – Georg Riedel
Guitar – Rune Gustafsson
Percussion – Egil Johansen
Piano – Bengt Hallberg
Conductor, Arranger – Leif Strand
Alto Vocals – Birgitta Bergqvist, Ieva Zalitis, Ingrid Haking,
Karin Öhman, Lena Gustavsson, Margareta Malmnäs
Bass Vocals – Björn Eriksson, Erik Rentzhog, Hans-Christer Eriksson,
Ingar Winqvist, Per-Arne Norman, Peter Engström,
Svenerik Blomgren, Torgny Carlsson, Örjan Svane
Soprano Vocals – Anna-Lena Hallgren, Berit Norberg, Bodil Hellebro,
Eva Strand, Eva-Lis Hammarström, Inger Örback, Lena Nordin, Mette Franzén
Tenor Vocals – Christer Lexing, Kjell Hagegård, Lars Örback, Sven-Olof Carlsson



%d bloggers like this: