Anthony Wilson Trio – Our Gang (2001) DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Anthony Wilson Trio – Our Gang (2001)
DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz | Time – 59:13 minutes | 2,3 + 2,13 GB | Genre:Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds |  © Groove Note Records
Recorded by Michael C. Ross at Cello Studios, Hollywood, CA December 7 & 8, 2000

Cover art and liner notes included

DSD file created by Gus Skinas from the SACD cutting master.
“…on a sonic level with xrcds.” — John Sunier, Audiophile Audition

The Anthony Wilson Trio recorded this magnificent jazz guitar session featuring guitar, Hammond B-3 organ and drums. Wilson, the talented Grammy-nominated jazz guitarist and key player in the Diana Krall Quartet covers classics such as Kenny Burrell’s “Chitlins Con Carne” as well as some original compositions (Road Trip) through to an unforgettable instrumental cover version of The Beatles’ “I Want You (She’s So Heavy)” from Abbey Road as well as superb performances of “Prelude To A Kiss” (Billy Stayhorn).

Most of Anthony Wilson’s recordings to date tend to put the focus on his writing, so this workout by the guitarist in a trio is a welcome change of pace. Wilson has a melodic and boppish style with an attractive tone. He interacts with two fellow citizens of Los Angeles: organist Joe Bagg and drummer Mark Feber. Wilson contributes three originals and also plays songs by Bagg, Kenny Burrell, the Beatles, Frank Loesser, and Duke Ellington (“Prelude to a Kiss”). Overall this is a fine straight-ahead jazz date by an underrated but talented guitarist. –AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow


1. Our Gang 8:38
2. Chitlins Con Carne 7:23
3. Britta’s Blues 7:24
4. Time Flies 7:46
5. Road Trip 4:56
6. Luck Be A Lady 5:52
7. I Want You (She’s So Heavy) 9:44
8. Prelude To A Kiss 6:59

Anthony Wilson: guitar
Joe Bagg: Hammond B-3
Mark Ferber: drums



%d bloggers like this: