Styx – Pieces Of Eight (1978) [Audio Fidelity 2017] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Styx – Pieces Of Eight (1978) [Audio Fidelity 2017]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 42:48 minutes | Scans included | 1,72 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 906 MB
Mastered by Kevin Gray | Audio Fidelity # AFZ-265 | Genre: Rock

Pieces of Eight is the eighth studio album by Styx. Like the band’s previous album, it managed to achieve triple platinum certification, thanks to the hit singles “Sing for the Day”, “Blue Collar Man (Long Nights)” and “Renegade”.

Styx’s feisty, straightforward brand of album rock is represented best by “Blue Collar Man” from 1978’s Pieces of Eight, an invigorating keyboard and guitar rush – hard and heavy, yet curved by Tommy Shaw’s emphasized vocals. Reaching number 21, with the frolicking romp of “Renegade” edging in at number 16 only six months later, Pieces of Eight maintained their strength as a front-running FM radio group. Even though these two tracks were both mainstream singles, the rest of the album includes tracks that rekindle some of Styx’s early progressive rock sound, only cleaner. Tracks like “Sing for the Day,” “Lords of the Ring,” and “Aku-Aku” all contain slightly more complex instrumental foundations, and are lyrically reminiscent of the material from albums like The Serpent Is Rising or Man of Miracles, but not as intricate or instrumentally convoluted. While the writing may stray slightly from what Styx provided on The Grand Illusion, Pieces of Eight kept their established rock formula in tact quite firmly.


01. Great White Hope
02. I’m OK
03. Sing For The Day
04. The Message
05. Lords Of The Ring
06. Blue Collar Man (Long Nights)
07. Queen Of Spades
08. Renegade
09. Pieces Of Eight
10. Aku-Aku

Dennis DeYoung – keyboards, vocals
Tommy Shaw – guitar, mandolin, vocals
James Young – guitar, vocals
Chuck Panozzo – bass
John Panozzo – drums

Mastered for this SACD by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio.
Authoring by Stephen Marsh at Marsh Mastering.



%d bloggers like this: