Nancy Bryan – Neon Angel (2000) SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Nancy Bryan – Neon Angel (2000)
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 59:01 minutes | Front/Rear Covers + PDF | 2,38 GB
or DSD64 2.0 (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front/Rear Covers+PDF Booklet | 2,34 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Front/Rear Covers + PDF | 1,25 GB

The first non-blues artist on Analogue Productions, Los Angeles singer/songwriter Nancy Bryan offers in Neon Angel, her second APO release, social commentary with intense soul.

Bryan’s honesty in her approach to song writing has created a stylization that defies category. Neon Angel is a unique and personal body of work. In it, her lyrics are visual and socially relevant, yet intimate, poetic and immediate. Her music ranges from the ethereal to a plaintive earthiness, and at times both expressions are grasped in the same moment. This recording is as classic and as powerful as Joni Mitchell’s legendary Blue. The setting for Nancy’s songs is specific, yet timeless. Blame It On The Moon is a Southern swamplife spiritual sung against an undulating bass line. Pulse and Time is as light as whipped cream in the confluence of dobro, ukulele and D-tuned acoustic guitar. And you can almost see the cold blue November sky behind a silhouette of skyscrapers in the melancholy Chicago Skyline and feel the singer’s loneliness as her soaring vocals cry out for an irredeemable past.

Neon Angel was recorded live, direct-to-two-track at Blue Heaven Studios, the converted 77-year-old church in Salina, Kansas. This 13-song, all-acoustic album emphasizes the church’s natural acoustics, bringing to life the massive, vaulted ceiling and Nancy on the altar. Every track on this record is naked and essential and is an equally integral part of a brilliant mosaic.


01. Nobody’s Buying
02. Blame It On The Moon
03. Pulse & Time
04. Chicago Skyline
05. Neon Angel
06. Salvation
07. Bending Road
08. Skating At The Edge
09. Deep As The Sea
10. I Hear Voices
11. I’ll Be Waiting
12. My Love Is A Message
13. Come Thou Fount

Nancy Bryan – vocals
John Bryan – guitar
Bob DiChiro – bass, eukalele, accordian, wooden drum, bean pods
Jimmy D. Lane – dobro guitar on “1,3,7 & 9”
Don Wagner – violin on “1 & 7”
Bill Garrison – harmonica on “1 & 7”

Produced by Chad Kassem and Nancy Bryan. Engineered by David Baker.
Recorded on April 26-29, 1999 at Blue Haven Studious in Salina, Kansas. This is a live to two track analog recording.
Mastered by Katsuhiko Naito.




%d bloggers like this: