Cowboy Junkies – The Trinity Session (1988) [Analogue Productions 2016] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Cowboy Junkies – The Trinity Session (1988) [Analogue Productions 2016]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 >1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Full Scans 300dpi | 2.14 GB
FLAC tracks 2.0 24bit/88.2 kHz | Full Scans 300dpi | 980 MB

Who says you can’t make a great record in one day — or night, as the case may be? The Trinity Session was recorded in one night using one microphone, a DAT recorder, and the wonderful acoustics of the Holy Trinity in Toronto. Interestingly, it’s the album that broke the Cowboy Junkies in the United States for their version of “Sweet Jane,” which included the lost verse. It’s far from the best cut here, though. There are other covers, such as Margo Timmins’ a cappella read of the traditional “Mining for Gold,” a heroin-slow version of Hank Williams’ classic “I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry,” “Dreaming My Dreams With You” (canonized by Waylon Jennings), and a radical take of the Patsy Cline classic “Walkin’ After Midnight” that closes the disc. Those few who had heard the band’s previous album, Whites Off Earth Now!!, were aware that, along with Low, the Cowboy Junkies were the only band at the time capable of playing slower than Neil Young and Crazy Horse — and without the ear-threatening volume. The Timmins family — Margo, guitarist and songwriter Michael, drummer Peter, and backing vocalist and guitarist John — along with bassist Alan Anton and a few pals playing pedal steel, accordion, and harmonica, paced everything to crawl.


01. Mining for Gold 1:30
02. Misguided Angel 4:56
03. Blue Moon Revisited (Song for Elvis) 4:31
04. I Don’t Get It 4:34
05. I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry 5:28
06. To Love is to Bury 5:16
07. 200 More Miles 5:29
08. Dreaming My Dreams with You 4:30
09. Working on a Building 3:46
10. Sweet Jane 3:39
11. Postcard Blues 3:23
12. Walkin’ After Midnight 6:03

Released 15 November 1988
Recorded 27 November 1987
Studio Church of the Holy Trinity, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Genre Alternative country, country rock, folk rock
Label Analogue Productions CAPP 072 SA, 2016

Produced by Peter Moore



%d bloggers like this: