Cowboy Junkies – Whites Off Earth Now (1986) [MFSL 2006] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Cowboy Junkies – Whites Off Earth Now (1986) [MFSL 2006]
PS3 Rip | ISO | SACD DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 42:48 minutes | Scans included | 3,78 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 871 MB
Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab # UDSACD 4010 – Surround Series

Although it didn’t originally have anything to do with their sound, the Cowboy Junkies’ name wound up seeming pretty accurate: their music was grounded in traditional country, blues, and folk, yet drifted along in a sleepy, narcotic haze that clearly bore the stamp of the Velvet Underground.

Featuring only one original song, the Cowboy Junkies’ debut, Whites Off Earth Now!!, captures the band forming their own sound through covers, including songs by Robert Johnson and Bruce Springsteen. It’s not as captivating as their later releases, but it’s fascinating to hear their signature country-on-valium sound develop. Margo Timmins sings beautifully.


01. Shining Moon
02. State Trooper
03. Me And The Devil
04. Decoration Day
05. Baby Please Don’t Go
06. I’ll Never Get Out Of These Blues Alive
07. Take Me
08. Forgive Me
09. Crossroads

Mastered by Shawn R. Britton at Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab, Sebastopol, CA.



%d bloggers like this: