Eleanor McEvoy – Snapshots (1999) SACD ISO

Eleanor McEvoy – Snapshots (1999)
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 50:44 minutes | 825 MB
Genre: Folk Rock | Publisher (label): Mosco Disc [MOSACD305]

Irish singer/songwriter Eleanor McEvoy returned with her third release, Snapshots, with ’80s fixture Rupert Hine (the Fixx) at the production helm and lending guitar, keyboard, percussion, and background vocal assistance. Musically, the tone is light and breezy with Julia Fordham and Everything But the Girl’s Tracey Thorn being touchstones both vocally and lyrically. “All I Have,” co-written with Caroline Lavelle, chugs along nicely and “Wrapping Me Up in Luxury (Until the Morning Comes)” is an engaging midtempo shuffle about the comfort and security of being in love. The highlights are “Did You Tell Him?” which is dead-on in its literate description of the mixed emotions felt when a friend has bumped into a former lover, and the sax-driven “Please Heart, You’re Killing Me,” a jaunty track as inviting as a warm, summer day. McEvoy even spices things up with the dance beat of “Territory of Poets.” McEvoy is a talented and insightful writer with a pleasant voice that is capable of firepower, and Snapshots is an impressive display of her abilities.


01. There’s More To This Woman
02. All I Have – with Caroline Lavelle
03. Did You Tell Him?
04. Please Heart, You’re Killing Me – with Rodney Crowell
05. To One Who Didn’t Know You
06. Now You Tell Me
07. Wrapping Me Up In Luxury (Until The Morning Comes)
08. She Had It All
09. Territor Of Poets
10. Sophie
11. Easy To Lose Hope

Eleanor McEvoy (vocals)
Rupert Hine (keyboards)
Pino Paladino (bass)
Phil Palmer (guitar)
Ian Thomas (drums)
Snake Davis
The London Session Orchestra




%d bloggers like this: