Yellow Magic Orchestra – Solid State Survivor (1979) [Japan 2018] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Yellow Magic Orchestra – Solid State Survivor (1979) [Japan 2018]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 32:04 min | Scans included | 1,29 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Full Scans included | 750 MB

Solid State Survivor is the second album by Japanese electronic music band Yellow Magic Orchestra, released in 1979. Solid State Survivor was never released in the United States, but many of the songs from this album were compiled for release in the States as the US pressing of ×∞Multiplies (1980). The album was an early example of synthpop, a genre that the band helped pioneer alongside their earlier album Yellow Magic Orchestra, and it also contributed to the development of techno. Solid State Survivor won the Best Album Award at the 22nd Japan Record Awards, and it sold two million records. Several songs from the album have continued to be widely covered and sampled.

The trio hit their stride with second album Solid State Survivor, a brisk and confident set of synth-disco-pop that continues along the line drawn five years before by Kraftwerk. Fun-loving and breezy where Kraftwerk had been ponderous and statuesque, the album sets out YMO’s template for electronic pop with less minimalism and a more varying use of synthesizer lines. The English lyrics, written by Chris Mosdell but sung by YMO themselves, make for hilarious listening especially on a cover of the Beatles’ “Day Tripper”.


01. Technopolis
02. Absolute Ego Dance
03. Rydeen
04. Castalia
05. Behind The Mask
06. Day Tripper
07. Insomnia
08. Solid State Survivor

Haruomi Hosono – bass guitar, synth bass, keyboards, vocoder
Ryuichi Sakamoto – keyboards, vocoder
Yukihiro Takahashi – vocals, drums, electronic drums



%d bloggers like this: